Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-02-2012, 11:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Fish noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 145
Adding Ammonia

I'm starting my cycle in my 65g. I've read that adding ammonia helps kickstart the process. Is that true? If so, is this ammonia acceptable?

I got it from walgreen's. It says Ammonium Hydroxide (contains no Phosphorus). That is the only active ingredient listed.

How much should be applied? How often?

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1595869580.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	165.1 KB
ID:	80259  
__________________

__________________
Fish noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 11:59 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
You have to shake it up and see if it bubbles . If it does bubble it's no good . 4 ppm of ammo is the right starting dose.
__________________

__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 08:44 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Still throw a raw shrimp in to tank. This will feed your Bactria. The liquid ammonia will cause the spike you need to kick start cycle.
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 02:44 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
You don't need to add a raw shrimp. That's what the pure ammonia is there for. Dose to 4ppm. A little goes a long way with that stuff. I'd add a teaspoon at a time and see how much you need. If memory serves me right, I think i only needed a 1/3 of a cup for my 125g + 40g sump.

Read this if you haven't already:
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 07:25 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Yeah but once that ammonia is converted there is no more ammonia to feed the cycle. He needs to keep dosing pure ammonia every couple of days or give tank something to create ammonia like shrimp. I have always understood once ammonia drops to 0 ppm in less than 24 hours then you can stop dosing tank. Maybe I'm wrong about this. I didn't read that link that Rick put up. I will tho
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:04 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 1,156
Keep dosing ammonia to 4ppm until you have no ammonia and no nitrites then do a large water change and you will be cycled. Read the link aquarick posted its helpful.
__________________
EriksFish315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:32 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rdnelson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaRick View Post
You don't need to add a raw shrimp. That's what the pure ammonia is there for. Dose to 4ppm. A little goes a long way with that stuff. I'd add a teaspoon at a time and see how much you need. If memory serves me right, I think i only needed a 1/3 of a cup for my 125g + 40g sump.

Read this if you haven't already:
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
Agree totally with this except for the amount. I put one small capfule in my 45 and it was way to much. Start with just a few drops and then test to see how close that got you to 4 ppm.

Each time the ammonia drops, dose it back up to 4 ppm. Keep doing this until you see nitrites start to rise. Continue dosing to 4 ppm until you see that all the ammonia and all the nitrite are converted to nitrate within a 24 hour period. When you can dose up to 4 ppm and then have no ammonia and nitrite 24 hours later you can start to do water changes to reduce the nitrates. Once the nitrates are below 10-20 (but as close to 0 as you can get) you can start slowly adding livestock.
__________________
Since my tank is a birthday present to my wife, everything I spend going forward is just an extension of my love for her right?
rdnelson99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 11:02 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
NyteGTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 549
it's ~ 2.5 ML per 10 gallons to get you to 4ppm. thats abotu as close as I can get "scientifically"
__________________
90G Reef - in Progress
12G Nanocube - Nano reef
15g QT, 10G Frag
NyteGTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 11:56 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Fish noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 145
UPDATE:

I found some pure ammonia at Ace Hardware last weekend. I dosed the tank to 4ppm. A few days ago my numbers were :

Ammonia: 2ppm
Nitrite: >5ppm
Nitrate: 80ppm

Then last night my ammonia had dropped to 1ppm, but all the other numbers remained the same. So, I dosed it back up to nearly 4ppm.

NOW this morning my numbers are:

Ammonia: 1ppm
Nitrite: >5ppm
Nitrate: 40-60ppm.


Its weird, because my ammonia dropped overnight, but my nitrIte has remained off the chart this entire time. AND how would my nitrAtes drop without even doing a water change?
__________________
Fish noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 12:07 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
NyteGTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 549
Live sand?
__________________

__________________
90G Reef - in Progress
12G Nanocube - Nano reef
15g QT, 10G Frag
NyteGTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Ammonia Gonzo1683 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 12 04-18-2012 12:25 PM
Ammonia not dropping :( janky Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 33 03-18-2012 11:43 AM
Ammonia poisoning without ammonia? ErinMcG Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 34 03-04-2012 05:26 PM
Ammonia and nitrite problems..... Monsweet Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 03-02-2012 11:42 AM
Ammonia problem Carinea Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 02-29-2012 08:21 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.