Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-26-2004, 04:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Adding baserock to tank

I've just got 17kg extra dry baserock to add to my tank, which I bought out of a basket at my LFS.

I plan to rinse this in used SW then put it straight in my tank.

Will it be ok? The rock smells ok (it smells like rock but sort of has different grey/red patches on it (pics below) but leaves a sort of white chalky powder on your hands when it's been handled.

Do you think just the SW rinse will be ok before I put it in? I'm just concerned about handling contaminents etc., seeing as I don't really know where it's been before it got to my LFS.
__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 05:20 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
If you currently have livestock in your tank, I would probably cure it to be on the safe side. At the very least, I would let it soak in a bucket of saltwater for a while with a PH for aeration to make sure it is clean. You never know where this rock came from.

Mike
__________________

__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 05:24 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
You really should have to cure it in the traditional sense. However, I would first scrub it a little, with an old toothbrush or a vegetable brush, to make sure you don't have any dead organic material on it. Follow that by putting it in a bucket of saltwater and a powerhead/airstone. Wait a few days, then test for ammonia.
If it shows 0ppm, you're probably cool.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 06:20 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Cool - I'll put it in the plastic tank I use for my waterchanges for 4 days.

I'll use a heater as well.

After it's done, after a quick rinse (as usual) of my waterchange tank and the powerhead/heater, I guess the tank will be ok for maintank waterchanges as usual? I dont want the rock to contaminate the equipment I use for my waterchanges :P
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 06:35 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
Jusr rinse the equipment off before you put it back in the main tank and you should be fine.

Mike
__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 06:37 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
I usually rinse the equipment with tapwater then dry.

Should I be putting used SW or newly mixed (after 24 hours) SW in my "curing" container?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 06:39 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
You could use either one. The closer in levels to the main tank ie. SG, temp, pH, etc..the better. It will be aerated already as well. Just plug in a PH and let it sit.

Mike
__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 07:06 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
I'll use used SW then after my next change

The tank and equipment (I use for waterchange water) will def be ok to use for waterchanges again after the rock's been in, even if I get a reading of ammonia, after a good FW rinse/wipe?

After the rock has been in for 4 days with no ammonia, should I put it straight in my main tank? Or do another SW rinse with some newer SW?

And, will the "dip" get rid of all contaminents that could've been on the rock so it'll be totally safe?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 02:09 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Anyone? Rock's going in soon :P
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 02:12 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
Did you test the levels to see where they are? I would rinse them off again to make sure the dust and debris is off so it won't cloud your tank as well.

Mike
__________________

__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
base, rock, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Baserock clowninround Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 03-27-2007 05:56 PM
Cleaning baserock fishman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 03-21-2006 01:14 AM
Stocking Baserock bj5z25 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 06-30-2005 12:13 PM
Cincerblock Baserock gozetec02 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 04-25-2005 12:24 AM
Baserock Question Goldie Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 16 08-26-2003 01:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.