Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-23-2003, 12:45 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: fort lauderdale, fl
Posts: 154
adding live sand

being very new to this, i've decided that i need more live sand after my tank is up and running. it was an established tank when i bought it and all i did was move it. i left all the existing filter media so it would cycle better. it no longer has any ammonia or nitrite. the problem is that i have 4 chromis damsels and i'm afraid i might hurt them by adding the sand now. any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
lilismom1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 12:55 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: California
Posts: 512
Umm, I too am fairly new to this, but I don't think you would hurt them by adding the sand... I think they are pretty hardy fish .But don't take my word for it!!! Hopefully someone with a bit more experience will tell me if im right or wrong!
__________________

__________________
two11devan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 12:59 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: fort lauderdale, fl
Posts: 154
thanks alot, i wasn't sure and i didn't want to disrupt anything.
__________________
lilismom1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 02:27 AM   #4
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Adding more LS would be fine but do not put it in all at once. You would do better to add only " or so at a day to allow the "critters" in the sandbed to migrate to the surface.

I find using a small plastic cup best. Allow it to sit just a hair below the surface of the water in the tank until it fills slowly with water. The gentley ease it down to the bottom and ease it out. Don't dump, just let it slide out easy. It would be a good idea to turn off the powerheads in the area you work on. The few minutes it will take won't do any harm but will lessen the murkiness.

No need to worry about the fish. I swapped out my CC for sand with a "full" tank (rock, corals and fish) and did not move a thing (or lose any either )

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 11:00 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: fort lauderdale, fl
Posts: 154
thats a good idea with the cup and i didn't even think about my little crabs. i appreciate the advice.
__________________
lilismom1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
live, live sand, sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding live sand wolfmanbean Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 11-30-2009 10:19 PM
adding live sand ?? oldfishead Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 11-30-2007 06:10 PM
Adding More Live Sand Scoot Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 04-12-2006 03:13 PM
Adding live sand? -- live rock aquascape also dansemacabre Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 7 03-16-2004 12:14 AM
Adding More Live Sand two11devan Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 08-21-2003 11:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.