Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-24-2008, 01:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
CluelessInNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 20 minutes northwest of NYC
Posts: 187
Adding More Live Sand

I am noticing jsut now how shallow my layer of LS is...it's about one inch deep. I wonder if it is feasbile to add another layer of sand on top of the layer now in my tank. The sand has been for 3 months now. Does this make any sense at all?
__________________

__________________
...No seriously, I don't know what I'm doing.
CluelessInNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 09:25 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Sure does, if you want to add more. Make sure you rinse and turn off your water moving equipment. There are plenty of folks that do this.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 03:01 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Just add it a little at a time, like no more than a ˝" on top of what you have. You can do that every month till you build it up to the depth you want.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 09:45 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
CluelessInNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 20 minutes northwest of NYC
Posts: 187
This was all good advice. I finally added about 1/2" layer of LS last night. I DIDN'T rinse the sand and after just one "scoop" I added, the entire tank got very cloudy. I then rinsed the sand off carefully with clean (not tap) water, and waited a couple of hours. I added the rest and the it was better, but still clouded my tank for awhile. BY the time I got to bed, it was almost perfectly clear. This morning it is clear and it appears the fish have all survived.
I wouldn't recommend this maneuver unless you really, really need to, and I did. My goby had only a very light layer of sand to sift through and I needed to add it. I'm glad I did, but nothing beats being ready BEFORE you add livestock to your tank. Live and learn.
__________________
...No seriously, I don't know what I'm doing.
CluelessInNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 10:21 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Cool thanks for the update! There are plenty of folks that add new sand to replinish the sand that has been siphoned out.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 02:47 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Glad to hear it went well for you. I assume you will be adding more as time goes on.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 02:59 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
CluelessInNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 20 minutes northwest of NYC
Posts: 187
Yes, I am giving the little guys a chance to catch their breaths as they recover from the "smog" of last night I'll add the rest of the bag tonight.
They seem just fine today, thank goodness. I wasn't so sure about them last night.
I do think my snails are dying off slowly, not sure why. That has nothing to do with the new sand though.
__________________
...No seriously, I don't know what I'm doing.
CluelessInNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 09:35 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
If you are adding to a differnent area of the tank tongiht is fine. If you are adding to the same area you should wait a week so the bacteria and sand critters have time to adjust to the increased depth.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
live, live sand, sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding live sand wolfmanbean Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 11-30-2009 10:19 PM
adding live sand ?? oldfishead Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 11-30-2007 06:10 PM
Adding More Live Sand Scoot Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 04-12-2006 03:13 PM
Adding live sand? -- live rock aquascape also dansemacabre Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 7 03-16-2004 12:14 AM
Adding More Live Sand two11devan Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 08-21-2003 11:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.