Adding new LR rock to established tank....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Seepu

Aquarium Advice Freak
First... Im a SW noob, we have 2 other 75g FW tanks, one Mbuna tank, and one Central American Cichlid tank.

However.....

I got a new 90g reef tank for Christmas, and it has been up and running 1 week. We are getting ready to add LR, but are completely overwhelmed by the cost of LR at our LFS. We are looking at $700.00 ++ for just 135 lbs of LR. We just shelled out 2k for the bare bones reef startup ( no skimmer, no heater, no PH, and one 20lb bag of sand)

When I sleep, I dream of beautiful fish swimming gracefully in my new tank, little critters skittering about the rocks.... when my husband sleeps, he has nightmares of dollar signs crashing and burning....

My question is this: Can I add more LR later ( a few months or so ), after curing the new stuff in a sperate container, of course, and will this greatly affect my tank's cycle? Can keep just a cleaner crew, and some <<cough>> cheaper, reef compatible, fish till I get all my rock in? And finally after all my rock is in, then really set to getting my livestock the way I'd like?

/boggle

If the rock is all the way cured you can add it to your main tank without a problem. Also with a tank your size you should look at getting base rock to be seeded and then get some really nice live rock pieces to seed the tank. I used base rock and then the rocks that my corals came on to seed it. This works very well and the base rock is indistiguishable from the regular live stuff after a few months and alot cheaper.

Once the base rock is seeded, then it's LIVE? Or is it still base rock, that has stuff growing on it?

Sorry for the probably obvious question.. just want to get it all straight.

( its easier to get hubby to spend money if he thinks I know what Im talking about! )

Seepu said: