Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-30-2005, 12:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Posts: 37
Adding Substrate?

Heya folks,

I've been tending to a 30g saltwater tank for over a year now...it was already established and currently has 2 ocellaris clowns as well as counless bristleworks in the LR and substrate. All measurements are fine, including nitrates which has been under control lately since I've been changing the water more regularly. The current substrate is crushed coral, I believe... http://loar.net/gallery/sw-fish/PDR_0508 . I would like to add some sand - to help it look nicer and to raise the bottom a bit (the sand is kinda low in some spots). Is there any reason NOT to add sand? Do I have to remove the cc? Any procedures I should take to add it?

Thanks!
Jeff
__________________

__________________
jhoelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 02:29 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Posts: 37
I think I've found answers to my questions using various searches on the site and also this turotial. http://www.aquariumadvice.com/showqu...q=2&fldAuto=27

__________________

__________________
jhoelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 02:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
The tutorial is great. The only problem with adding sand on top of cc is that eventually the cc will make it's way back to the top. That's ok if you like the cc. A slow change over is best. Also, a method I used when adding sand to avoid as much sandstorm as possible was to use a piece of pvc pipe. This gets the sand to the bottom without loosing so much into the water column, as well as gives you some control on where the sand goes. HTH.
__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 03:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Posts: 37
Thanks. My plan is to remove approx 25% of the CC at a time and add enough sand to replace the removed CC. I hope that way to minimize any ammonia or nitrite spikes. I'll do a 10-15% water change at the same time.

Maybe I can even start tomorrow! I'm visiting the LFS tonight anyway and maybe I'll hit Home Depot tomorrow if the fish store doesn't have cheap sand...the PVC pipe method sounds good!

Thanks,
Jeff
__________________
jhoelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
adding substrate TheNamelessPoet Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 07-07-2009 01:33 PM
Adding substrate to existing tank DBXBO1I Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 02-06-2009 07:09 PM
thinking about adding a layer of PFS to my substrate... Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 08-03-2006 04:31 PM
Adding Substrate Questions... HiFi Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 06-27-2006 10:39 AM
Adding Substrate razman Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 08-16-2003 09:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.