Advice please!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Marinebeginner

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm a complete newbie to marine aquariums. My aquarium is 3 weeks old. I was persuaded last week to replace the foam in filter with pieces of live rock (boyu TL450) Do I need to remove them and clean them when I am cleaning the protein skimmer and other bits and pieces ??

Feel free to blast them with a turkey baster to remove debris but leave them in place in the water.

Steep to say the least lol. My advice is READ as much as you can and learn before you start. Its alot better to know the basics at least before you start. But then again its kinda fun learning from your mistakes unless they are big ones....

Glad I could assist. This forum is a great learning resource. I've learned so much here.

h8z2luze nailed it. Before I started my tank I read almost every book/internet searches I could find. My tank has been up for about 8 months now... Things are slow and boring at first. But if you hang in there and have MAJOR patients, than they become fun and exciting.

h8z2luze said:
Steep to say the least lol. My advice is READ as much as you can and learn before you start. Its alot better to know the basics at least before you start. But then again its kinda fun learning from your mistakes unless they are big ones....

Also, dont ever forget this --- just because it works for someone else doesnt mean itll work for you--- in essence, you have to always find what works best for you