Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-29-2008, 02:01 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 166
I currently have a AquaClear 30 filter and a Tropfin 20 filter set up to draw water from left and right and to return towards the middle. I have been using Prime to try and keep the nitrates down but currently dont have the means to test the levels properly. I plan on running a battery of test ASAP to get exact levels.
__________________

__________________
Alexrd09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 02:03 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Prime doesn't do anything for nitrates.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 02:04 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
OniTweak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wahiawa, HI
Posts: 276
I'd also look into getting a power head for it even though it is a 10g. Hydor koralia makes a great nano tank power head.
__________________
8G Biocube - Local Hawaiian Livestock Only
OniTweak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 02:11 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 166
What can i use for nitrates i was under the impression that it "detoxifies nitrite and nitrates" but i probably have a misunderstanding of what this means...
__________________
Alexrd09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 02:15 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
OniTweak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wahiawa, HI
Posts: 276
Just make sure your cycle is complete and keep up with your water changes, nitrates shouldn't be to much of a challenge after that. make sure when you only add something efery other week or so to. Keep your bioload low enough for your beneficial bacterial colonies to keep up. In a 10g your main source of filtration will be your LR and your Live Sand if you have it.

Just curious but what do you have in your filter media area? I'd take out the stock filter media and throw in some Live Rock Rubble.
__________________
8G Biocube - Local Hawaiian Livestock Only
OniTweak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 02:21 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 166
Activated carbon, a sponge looking particle filter, and a netted bag with white rocks in it(not sure what this is for bu it cam with the AquaClear 30 filter). Thanks will do... is carbon still necessary if i swap the filter media out for LR
__________________
Alexrd09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 02:30 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
OniTweak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wahiawa, HI
Posts: 276
As long as you aren't dumping in any crazy chemicals or medicating the tank you should be fine without the carbon. Just make sure your LR rubble is cured before you throw it in or it could cause an ammonia spike.
__________________
8G Biocube - Local Hawaiian Livestock Only
OniTweak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 08:39 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 166
Here are the levels i was able to get in my tank....
Nitrate: 20
Nitrite: 0
Alkalitity: 300
PH: 8.0
Salinity: 1.024

T swaped out one of the filer medias from my tropfin 20 filter and replaced it with ruble LR. I am hopping this will help with the nitrate lvl's and did a 20% water change. Is there any thing else i should do?
__________________
Alexrd09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 08:47 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 166
These are my levels:
Nirate: 20
Nitrite: 0
Alkalitity: 300
PH: 8.0
Salinity. 1.024

I swaped the filter media out of the tropfin 20 filter for 2/3 LB or rubble live rock and did a partial water change. I intend to do a more thorough test once i get my tester kit but thats all i was able to get for know.
__________________
Alexrd09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 09:15 PM   #20
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Does that filter have foam sponges in it?
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, 10 gallon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally my 10G FWT and soon 10G SWT twism10000 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 10-14-2008 08:49 PM
Need a good plant to beat algae in a 10g 99RedSi Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 12 06-16-2005 01:40 PM
Algae problem in a 10g 99RedSi Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 06-15-2005 06:44 PM
algae in 10g tetrin Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 02-27-2005 11:51 PM
Algae Out Break Rxblade123 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 13 12-01-2004 11:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.