Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-05-2013, 07:53 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
Two overflow returns.. 600 gph. And one power head in the middle.. Tank is a 150.
__________________

__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 07:55 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
daney90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ-MIK View Post
Two overflow returns.. 600 gph. And one power head in the middle.. Tank is a 150.
Sorry,are you saying its 150gal? Or 65gal? Or the 65gal is the sump or refuge?
__________________

__________________
daney90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 08:19 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
Where are you getting 65 gallon?? My sump returns are 600 gph.. That's gallons per hour.. My tank is 150 gallons...
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 08:37 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
daney90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 523
lol!! Ok i misread that. I thought this is your thread. It is brad15 who has 65gal. Anyway, your flow is not enough for a 150 gal. You want to have 35x-50x flow. I have 2700gph on my 55 gal.
__________________
daney90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 03:57 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
High nutrient levels are also a factor. Water changes with good source water would help.
On the 150 gallon tank I maintain I have 4 x 1500 gph power heads plus 1400gph return (before head loss) and I feel the tank could use a bit more.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 04:05 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
I was thinking that.. Bout the water.. But there are several guys in town that prime tap water like I do. And there tanks are thriving !! Idk what to think.. I'm trying to wait patently.. But my tank just straight up looks like hell.. I'm thinking about getting a uv sterilizer... And next 3 weeks I'll have an ro/di unit...
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:09 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
oyf709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 645
well also it could be your lighting as well. Providing incorrect spectrum will compound the issue when given enough nutrient .
__________________
We Provide LED Solution For Your Aquarium..
Click the Signature for more information.
http://i706.photobucket.com/albums/w...09/aqled-1.gif
oyf709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:20 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
That too... That's why I need a par meter... Anyone?? Anyone?? Lol
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:33 PM   #19
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ-MIK View Post
I was thinking that.. Bout the water.. But there are several guys in town that prime tap water like I do. And there tanks are thriving !! Idk what to think.. I'm trying to wait patently.. But my tank just straight up looks like hell.. I'm thinking about getting a uv sterilizer... And next 3 weeks I'll have an ro/di unit...
Skip the UV and get a nice sized powerhead to get that water moving. In my 55 I have 2 1050, 3 750, and 1 550 koralia powerheads along with a marineland something or other that equals a 1050 and the mag 7 return from my sump. This is a flow and nutrient issue. Powerheads and ro/di will solve this, it will just take time and effort. Chin up and push forward.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:39 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
oyf709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ-MIK View Post
That too... That's why I need a par meter... Anyone?? Anyone?? Lol
PAR meter doesn't test spectrum. So it doesn't give you the information you need. I highly doubt anyone would be able to lend you a spectrometer tho as they mostly cost over 8k and that is the main reason I don't like to use flood light. The manufacturer doesn't have the spectrum reading and they won't bother to get those to you simply because it is not for aquarium uses or growing plants. If you want to go out and borrow one from someone, it is almost impossible cuz they are way too expensive and rarely anyone has it except labs.
__________________

__________________
We Provide LED Solution For Your Aquarium..
Click the Signature for more information.
http://i706.photobucket.com/albums/w...09/aqled-1.gif
oyf709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, refugium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.