Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-24-2011, 11:03 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 1,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by SH4N
No im using conditioned rain water. unable to get a RO unit.
Right there lies the problem
__________________

__________________
jsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 11:04 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 1,102
quess you have never owned a pool. Rain water is horrible better off using treated tap water.
__________________

__________________
jsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 11:05 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Krypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Holley, NY
Posts: 752
That's going to make recovery difficult. Normally I would recommend using the chemi-clean, then after 48 hours doing a huge water change to export the nutrients. But in your case, I don't know if that would be a good idea. Rain water contains whatever is in the atmosphere at the time so there's really no telling what is in the water. Any chance you could get to a local walmart or something and buy some RO water to do your change with?
__________________
"If your wife ever asks how much something was for your tank, just tell her you got it on sale and you had to have it! She'll understand"

-Chuck
Krypt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 11:06 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
Try to cut back on your light cycle, increase your PWC's and get a CUC i went through same thing when i upgraded to a 90g. If you go with the Cemi-clean Be shure to do at least a 50% PWC . I had to up my PWC's to twice a week for a month. use a 'soft' toothbrush to clean corals
__________________
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 11:06 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 98
I live in Australia we dont have walmart here, i've tried calling plumbing stores, fish stores, kmart, cant get a hold of one!, i dont trust buying online
__________________
SH4N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 11:08 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Krypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Holley, NY
Posts: 752
I can pm you the seller I used on eBay to get mine if you like. Controlling what is in your water is the foundation of a happy reef.
__________________
"If your wife ever asks how much something was for your tank, just tell her you got it on sale and you had to have it! She'll understand"

-Chuck
Krypt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 11:11 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 98
yes please pm me it krypt.

Will Algaefix by API be any use?
I will get another water change done tomorrow
__________________
SH4N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 11:13 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Krypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Holley, NY
Posts: 752
I'll just post it up here in case anyone else needs it as well:
RO Reverse Osmosis Filtration Systems items - Get great deals on Whole House Water Purification Systems items on eBay Stores!

I purchased a 5 stage unit from them and it's worked great.
__________________
"If your wife ever asks how much something was for your tank, just tell her you got it on sale and you had to have it! She'll understand"

-Chuck
Krypt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 11:13 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 98
Also cant expand my cuc to much...... the joy of owning a wrasse!
__________________
SH4N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 11:14 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 98
Are they easy to use? Do they need to be joined to any plumbing?
__________________

__________________
SH4N is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algea, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.