Algea and substrate problems

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SH4N

Aquarium Advice Regular
I need some serious help. I always ask questions and never really receive the answer I'm looking for. I'm a very big saltwater noob but im trying to learn as much as I can. I do research, I ask questions, Look through other threads just to gain some more knowledge, I started off listening to my LFS, not doing ANY research of any kind before he talked me into begining a salt water tank. My mistake!

I have a 50 gallon tank with Live rock and corals, nearly 1 year old now. My fish include 2 Black clown fish, Red Corris Wrasse, Blue Tang. I also have 10+ Hermit Crabs/Snails running around, Blue Starfish and a Sea Abalone.

I have bad diatoms for months just after I started my tank and it cleared up in February, my tank was crystal clear, barely got any algae growing on the glass. Now i'm stuggling to maintain my tank after my 12 hour shifts each day, the algae is so stubborn on my glass It hurts my hands to get it off. Thats not all, my Substrate is not white anymore, its going between red (cyano?) and brown (diatoms?), im also daily using a "aqua vacume". My tank is by a window but it's always got a blind on it (no visible light). Now there is growing red and green algae on some of my corals, and they are doing very poor now. I have t5's 4x 39 watt. I have 1x wave maker, Marisys protein skimmer/filter. had a uv steralizer but it just broke... I really dont want to lose any corals, im not sure what to do anymore.

My sea fan (Gorgonian i think) is starting to turn red and green, the bottom of it is starting to turn black and some "coral" is missing, making the skeleton visible.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us