Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-12-2012, 04:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
4127john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New jersey
Posts: 246
Almost

Setup my live rock, live sand, and water now what
__________________

__________________
4127john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 04:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4127john
Setup my live rock, live sand, and water now what
Add a cocktail shrimp to feed your tank ammonia. Keep testing the water parameters, keep lights off during cycle also.

Do you have a pic?

Are you using RO/DI water? And want salt mix are you using. Also what are you using to text the salinity?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 01:21 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
4127john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New jersey
Posts: 246
Just put in the shrimp how long do I need to put it in. I use instant ocean. I'm not using ro water because I'm not planning to keep corals
__________________
4127john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 03:17 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4127john
Just put in the shrimp how long do I need to put it in. I use instant ocean. I'm not using ro water because I'm not planning to keep corals
Put a cocktail shrimp into a media bag or other type of net like bag and let it sit and rot. Start testing for ammonia, nitrites and nitrates. You'll see spikes ammonia and nitrites, then finally nitrates.

You don't need to do water changes at this point just keep testing. The cycle period could take weeks but some have cycled shorter then that.

Speaking from personal experience I never saw nitrites. I don't know why I just never did.

How much live rock are you using? That will help the cycle along. How much live sand? What size tank?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 03:22 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Here's a good read


http://www.aquariumadvice.com/cycle-your-salt-tank/
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 03:23 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Hey also do you have pics? What type of system are you using? Power heads? Lights? Etc etc etc, a few pictures would be cool. Share your tank with us!!
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 12:19 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
4127john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New jersey
Posts: 246
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-892282350.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	108.1 KB
ID:	124635

The 20 gallon tank. So far there is about 10 pounds o live rock an 10 pounds of live sand the rest is white sand. No power heads.
__________________
4127john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 12:20 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
4127john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New jersey
Posts: 246
Using florecent lights.
__________________
4127john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 01:54 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4127john

The 20 gallon tank. So far there is about 10 pounds o live rock an 10 pounds of live sand the rest is white sand. No power heads.
You can add more live rock and your gonna want a power head or two. Do you want corals? Even with a fish only with live rock (FOWLR) will need current(power heads) the filter alone will not produce enough IMHO.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 04:46 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
4127john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New jersey
Posts: 246
Oh I see I guess I'll add a power head once I have enough money. I'm not having corals at the moment and I think I'm getting more rock. Just taking my time cuz this is made expensive
__________________

__________________
4127john is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.