Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-22-2006, 06:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ.
Posts: 98
almost ready to add water.. few last minute questions

Morning folks,

Have all the equipment, have everything plumbed and connected and now aside from a small dripping leak in my ro/di system, I'm ready.

Could you take a look at a few pictures and let me know what you think about a couple things?

This is in the front of the tank on the right side, it measures 1/8" x 1/8"and it looks like it's just a small spot on the tank where the silicone just never made it. Is this a problem?


This is a gap inbetween the stand and the tank. It's about 1/16" of an inch.
I have not shimmed the stand yet. It is on a tile floor.


These are the standpipes and the instructions state that the drainpipe should be 1/2 - 2" below the return. Unfortunately that's not how they are. The lfs states it should be ok, but I was hoping for additional input.


Does this all this look good? Does it look like I've missed anything?


I really hope it's almost time to add water.

Is it time?
__________________

__________________
I have an Oceanic 75g RR tank, MegaFlow sump, ASM G2 Skimmer, stand, canopy, and 60lbs of base rock.

Someday I'll add fishies.
elzool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 09:02 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
That last pic is the nicest I`ve ever seen under anyone`s tank ever. Nicely organized and neat. Good job.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 09:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ.
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58
That last pic is the nicest I`ve ever seen under anyone`s tank ever. Nicely organized and neat. Good job.
lmao

i can't wait to show this to my wife.

thank you very much
__________________
I have an Oceanic 75g RR tank, MegaFlow sump, ASM G2 Skimmer, stand, canopy, and 60lbs of base rock.

Someday I'll add fishies.
elzool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 09:30 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 526
I worry about the RO under there. Have you tested your RO to see how much waste water you will get? It's a lot. Do you have it hooked to a float valve with an auto shut-off on it? If so, sometimes the auto shut off won't shut off right away and keep the waste water a'runnin'.


Other advice would have been to set it up in a garage or outside for a trial fresh water run. You don't know if it's gonna leak and if all the pumps run properly until you try them, and it's not fun to find out that something doesn't jive when the tanks set up inside. not a good way to get the wife onboard.

Remember, if you run a freshwater trial run, that it will run a little quicker than SW.

Hope all works out....looks great so far.

I bet you are giddier than a school girl!
__________________
ryguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2006, 02:19 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ.
Posts: 98
Giddy doesn't begin to describe it, I'm thinking about wearing a skirt and everything I'm just so happy I'm finally at this point.

I've already set it up outside and tested all the plumbing and pumps. Hadn't tested the ro as that was inside.

I have the ro waiting to be hooked to a float switch. I had a kent marine float valve but it was too big to fit in the sump. I am ordering a switch and solenoid from autotopoff.com. I had it going through a battery operated irrigation controller set to only come on once a day, but that leaked internally. I bought two more and they did the same thing. Nothing very large, just a few drops an hour, but even a few drops is too much. So I took that back and was thinking of hooking the autotopoff equipment up to an Intermatic DT27C timer. Have that set to only come on once a day and then hopefully it will take care of things. Having no power may do just the opposite and allow it to stay on... so I'll have to test it.

Quote:
Remember, if you run a freshwater trial run, that it will run a little quicker than SW.
When you say quicker, what do you mean? the flow of water?

Whee, filled up 12 gallons so far... just another 63+ to go!

EDIT
Well,looks like i typed too soon.
I have a small leak on the return bulkhead at the tank.
that area filled with a wee bit of water

drip drip drip

took off the bulkhead and reseated it...
hopefully that does it

EDIT 4 hours later
shwew.... removed and reseated the bulkhead and four hours since doing that.... no leakage

thank goodness

now if i could just get my ro to flow faster and fill this tank up i'd be set

tds meter says 2 two?!?!
poop, now i have to throw it all out and start over again.

is it time to throw fish in there yet?
__________________
I have an Oceanic 75g RR tank, MegaFlow sump, ASM G2 Skimmer, stand, canopy, and 60lbs of base rock.

Someday I'll add fishies.
elzool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2006, 08:42 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 73
Hey, what kind of hose is that that is coming down from the tank to the sump(the blue one)? They look like some sort of vacuum hose. I have seen a couple photos of these and I am wondering how they attach to the bulkhead and where do you get them.

I have a 2 overflows on my tank and right now I am using spa hose with hose clamps. It works but I really don't like it.
__________________
Todd
150 Gallon FOWLR
Todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2006, 09:30 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ.
Posts: 98
WATER IS ABOUT TO FALL OVER THE OVERFLOW. Wheeeeeeeee
When do I turn the water off? How do I know how full to make it?


ahem

sorry Todd

I wish I knew what the hose is called but I don't. Two lfs I go to have them. It comes with the MegaFlow sump I bought. I have mine slid up over the bulkheads and have a hose clamp on around that.

That's what the instructions and the lfs said to do anyway. Hope it's right.
__________________
I have an Oceanic 75g RR tank, MegaFlow sump, ASM G2 Skimmer, stand, canopy, and 60lbs of base rock.

Someday I'll add fishies.
elzool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2006, 12:22 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 526
Hey,

What I meant by freshwater running quicker is that when you dry run your tank, freshwater will circulate a bit faster than SW (cause it doesn't contain the same dissolved solids).

So, when you run SW, you won't get the same exact flow and therefore it will need tweaking again.

I would set your main water level just higher than the lip on the tank so you don't see the level when looking at the tank straight on.

Did you level your tank and stand?
__________________
ryguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2006, 12:43 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Quote:
Originally Posted by elzool
tds meter says 2 two?!?!
poop, now i have to throw it all out and start over again.
I hope you are joking. A reading of 2 is pretty good depending on what your tap readings are. Sure 0 is optimal but that doesn’t mean the ro/di isn’t doing its job. Most tap measures around 30-50 on the tds and well water can be 300+.

That said it’s still a good idea to run it for about 20 gal and discard before using on the tank anyways.

Congrats on getting it all setup, it looks great
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2006, 02:02 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ.
Posts: 98
AA, I MAY HAVE A PROBLEM!

Last night I realized it was late and I would just start adding sand and base rock in this AM. I turned the power off and the sump filled up a few inches and levelled off. I watched tv for an hour and then looked at the sump level again before I went in to bed. It had risen a little. I thought, ok, no big deal, I'll mark it on a post it note I have stuck to the side and check it again later.

Got up a couple hours later and it had risen a bit more, marked that.
Got up this morning and it had risen 3/8" In the two hours since I've been up, it's risen maybe 1/16".

I looked in the overflow and it's only half full. The only thing I can think of is that I don't have one of the standpipes seated properly and it's just dripping through there.

Any other Ideas?

I figured I'd just drain the sump and pull one of the standpipes out and let it all flow into the sump. Then pull the other standpipe and then reseat both of them. Then refill the overflow and see what happens.

Or is this 'normal'?



Quote:
Originally Posted by ryguy
So, when you run SW, you won't get the same exact flow and therefore it will need tweaking again.

I would set your main water level just higher than the lip on the tank so you don't see the level when looking at the tank straight on.

Did you level your tank and stand?
Gotcha on the flow, I figured it would have something to do with FW versus SW, but wanted clarification, cause I'm inquisitive like that.

I leveled it all out beforehand and checked the waters level after it had some depth and it was still level.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tecwzrd
I hope you are joking. A reading of 2 is pretty good depending on what your tap readings are. Sure 0 is optimal but that doesn’t mean the ro/di isn’t doing its job. Most tap measures around 30-50 on the tds and well water can be 300+.

Congrats on getting it all setup, it looks great
Thanks!
and yes, I was joking about the 2!
I threw out probably the first 15 gallons of the water and then put the hose into the tank to start filling.

Now if I can just figure out the 'leaking' I'll be set.
__________________

__________________
I have an Oceanic 75g RR tank, MegaFlow sump, ASM G2 Skimmer, stand, canopy, and 60lbs of base rock.

Someday I'll add fishies.
elzool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starting Up, Few Questions (if anyone has a minute. :D) aveldina Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 10-25-2008 09:50 PM
Almost Ready to Add Water... I think... 5 More ?'s... SuperWade2 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 02-10-2006 08:51 PM
Last Minute Questions About My New System dimdem Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 14 01-29-2005 07:48 PM
Last minute questions before LR arrives sevise Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 22 10-07-2004 01:53 PM
Almost ready to go, a few last minute questions. Joshuha Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 08-24-2004 07:04 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.