Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-02-2007, 08:58 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 662
Just curious to know if in fact the white dots are pods since Marty did not add anything to his water except salt. There was no LR or LS in the tank when he saw the dots or the film on the glass.
__________________

__________________
C/
chase33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 11:06 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
Originally Posted by marty_wolff
i added live sand to the tank
They could have come from there.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 11:10 PM   #13
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
-i just added the sand about two hour ago.... could something have contaminated the water, like an airborn thing. Have not changed any of the water in over a month btw.
-are aquarium covers recomended?
-any general advice i need before i start buying the rest of my equipment?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 11:16 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Sometimes, if you buy the actual LS, I imagine you can get some pods or other critters, assuming the bag hasn't been sitting on a shelf/shipping truck or anything like that, for a while. In this case, it might just be small shells or other things, but could be "pods".
I don't like covers. It can cause low pH or heat issues.
As for further equipment, what do you already have?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 02:47 AM   #15
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
nothing much, just a hydrometer, one powerhead, 150 watt heater, no lights, no overflow, gonna start working on the sump tomorrow, need a different thermometer. about 110 lbs of sand 20 lbs base rock ( no live yet) i am very patient so i want to get mostly baserock and add a couple lbs live and wait for it to seed throughout the tank. the bag of live sand sat around for 2 months after i bought it so there was pretty much nothing but algae. planning on getting compact fleurescent lighting(no cover, will i have to worry about fish or inverts jumping out, or other stuff getting in.)

how do red gorgonians do in captivity?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 10:26 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Quote:
what exactaly do protien skimmers do?
Skimmers remove DOC from the water. Molecules bind to the mirco bubbles produced by the skimmer and are removed to the collection cup for disposal. If you have ever been to the beach you may have noticed a line of foam where the waves crash into the sand or around turbulent rockwork. As the wave crash, they mix with air and and natural skimming takes place.

A good skimmer is one of the best things you can do for your tank. However, they are not really needed during set-up and cycle (no DOC to skim) so you can save some money in the begining. Add one at the 6-8 week mark.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 11:39 AM   #17
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
how can you tell if a skimmer is right for your tank?

im planning on eventually having 2 percula clowns and a yellow tang, so not a huge bio-load.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 12:52 PM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Do a little reading on skimmers there are some rated for your size tank. I like an in-sump or below the tank design, others like HOB style. There are a lot of very good skimmers out there but you are going to have to spend a little money on them. You will probably find a better deal on a skimmer online then you will at a pet store. If you are worried about your fish jumping out of the tank one option is to use eggcrate from Lowes or Home Depot to cover the tank. It doesn't block O2 exchange and keeps your fish in. One thing I would recommend is to buy an additional heater. Having too will keep the one from working too hard and you will have a backup in case the one craps out. I run 3 heaters in my tank just in case.
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 01:04 PM   #19
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
the heater idea sounds great. with one i feel that it doesnt keep teh temperature as steady as i would like it.

this is probably a dumb question but can live sand turn base rock into live rock?

how accurate are hydrometers? because i add salt until i get to 1.023 but then it always drops .001 or more.

what size pump (GPH) should i get for my return sump pump?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 02:07 PM   #20
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I use a hydrometer for my tank.....1.023-1.026 will work for a reef tank. I keep mine around 1.024. When are you seeing a drop of .001?

The GPH of your return pump will depend on the GPH of your overflow. I have a 72g Bow which is 48" long just like your 55 it's a bit taller and wider then yours but the same length. My stand is custom built and is 38" high, the top of the tank is 61" off the floor. I use 2 660gph (1320gph) pumps as return pumps for my tank because of the 61" I get about 900gph of flow into my tank. I have a dual overflow that is rated at 1200-1400 gph. So my return pums are not even close to the water flow that my overflow can handle. I'm happy, for now, with the amount of flow I have going through my sump/fuge. You need to know the head height of the pump you are going to buy. If you have to pump 4' straight up and you want 600gph at that height you will have to buy a pump that will move that amount of water at that height. Make sense?
__________________

__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.