Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-30-2014, 11:18 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jjh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 346
Ammonia issues

So I have had my tank for 3 months now and I'm still finding trace amounts of ammonia in it. Can't figure out why.

Ammonia-0.25ppm
Nitrate-10ppm
SG-1.027

I am anal about my weekly water changes. I just don't get it. I'm working on a 20 gallon build that I was getting ready to put together today finally but this has me a little apprehensive about starting a nano if I can't get my big tank right.
__________________

__________________
jjh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 11:26 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
Are you using an api kit?
__________________

__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 11:32 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
treemanone2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bridgeport, Ct.
Posts: 2,168
Fwiw, the smaller the system, the harder and more frustrating it can be. Wether it's SW or FW when it all crashes, it's usually pretty rapid, fairly devastating, and if not caught soon enough, difficult (not impossible) to recover from.
__________________
treemanone2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 11:36 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
Ok so after reading your other thread, I suggest you either try a different ammonia test or take it to a lfs that doesn't use api to test and verify. I have seen so many false positives given by api kits. If it looks like it's just a little lighter than .25 on the api card, then it's really 0 IME
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 11:42 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jjh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedsReefs10 View Post
Are you using an api kit?

For ammonia and nitrates yes
__________________
jjh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 09:19 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: ohio
Posts: 142
what type of filtration are you running? I agree with the api test kits they are not accurate
__________________

__________________
50 gal reef,sump,reef octopus 110,solar flare 108 watt, carbon gfo duel reactor.

Jeremy
jeremy upshir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Still having ammonia issues. Marconis Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 22 03-16-2011 10:09 AM
ammonia issues dingogirl66 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 13 01-11-2008 03:35 PM
Crazy Ammonia Issues slinky Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 09-10-2007 03:30 AM
3 week old tank & Ammonia Issues Dan06 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 02-06-2006 10:40 PM
Ammonia and cyano issues hydrohoki Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 0 07-05-2004 06:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.