Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-12-2007, 01:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 6
Ammonia went up and down, but no nitrites, nitrates

Hi: I've been on the hobby since the early nineties. I'm back after 6 years. I'm using LR for the first time and It's been curing in the display tank. The LR was completely uncured and collected by myself from the surroudings of a reef. I took it home in an ice chest with seawater. I made tests for ammonia, nitrite and nitrate with the following results:

Day 4 Day 7 Day12
Ammonia Off the chart .6 ppm .00 ppm
Nitrite 0 0 0
Nitrate 0 0 0

This is the first time I've seen this. What happened with the nitrite spike? Why I have untraceable levels of nitrates. The test kit chemicals are new and no partial water changes were made and the bioballs were left on the w/d filter.

Has this happened to anyone? Has the tank cicled? Is it ready for Livestock?

Please advise.

Jose
Attached Images
File Type: jpg p8120100_157.jpg (63.6 KB, 51 views)
__________________

__________________
jomechal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 03:01 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
with the amount of LR you have in your tank I'm not surprised that you cycled so fast. If you are going to make a reef of this tank I would suggest getting rid of the bio balls and replacing them with LR rubble.
__________________

__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 05:29 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to artoledo Send a message via MSN to artoledo Send a message via Yahoo to artoledo
Hey Jose! Welcome to AA!!!!

I have to agree with ziggy, you already had the beneficial bacteria on the rock itself and the amount of rock you threw in there cycled the tank super quick. Like ziggy said, throw some rubble in the sump and i think that should be good.
__________________
If it doesn't work, use a Hammer.

-----Armando-----
artoledo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 12:24 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 6
I guess a visit to to the lfs is in order.

Thanks

Jose
__________________
jomechal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, nitrates, nitrites, no nitrites

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
.5 ammonia, 5.0 nitrates and 0 nitrites??? robinp Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 04-14-2009 01:38 AM
Still cycling...no ammonia, nitrites, OR nitrates! Stacie H. Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 05-04-2006 12:16 AM
No ammonia no nitrites and no nitrates?? exactionfigure Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 01-22-2006 06:47 PM
nitrites, nitrates, ammonia, all WAY high churnee Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 03-28-2005 09:47 PM
Nitrites...nitrates...ammonia...what gives? Jchillin Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 11-08-2004 01:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.