Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-25-2008, 11:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 173
Amonia

how is that all my nitrites are gone and my nitrates are around 40 but i still have a trace of amonia. My tank has been cycling for about 4 weeks now. Is this possible and should i do a water change to get rid of some of the amonia or should i just let it go until it is gone naturally?
__________________

__________________
brianf40us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 02:23 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Have you tested your source water for ammonia?
How old are your test kits?
What kind of test kits are you using?
Can you get your LFS to test your water for you to confirm your tests?
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 07:38 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 173
My tests are brand new i just bought them they are the Seachem basic marine test kit. I tested for both types of amonia and it is showing they are both present.

According to the test strips i have no nitrites and 40 ppm of nitrates. I did not use the seachem test to test for nitrites i guess i should have that would have been the smart thing to do hahahahaha.
__________________
brianf40us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 08:44 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 173
Is it possible that i have amonia because of my live rock that i just added in the last 2 weeks. i added about 24 pound of it in the last 2 weeks.
__________________
brianf40us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 08:58 AM   #5
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
Yup, even if it was fully cured there is always a chance that the change in environment or the time it may have been out of water cause something to die off giving you a low level ammonia reading. Which may also explain why in one post you had a 20 reading of nitrates and now it's 40.
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 09:59 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
elwaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianf40us View Post
Is it possible that i have amonia because of my live rock that i just added in the last 2 weeks. i added about 24 pound of it in the last 2 weeks.
The ammonia is coming from the LR. The fact that you have zero nitrites is a good indication that you have established a colony of nitrification bacteria; but LR can produce a lot of ammonia. LR can take many weeks to cure - sometimes up to two months - even if you purchased so called "cured" live rock.

You do water changes to reduce the nitrate levels, and 40 ppm of nitrates is OK. To reduce the ammonia, let the cycle continue without water changes. After both ammonia and Nitrites are zero, and remain so for a few days, you can do a PWC to lower the nitrates, and then start adding live stock.

As you probably know, ammonia is very toxic in the high pH (8 - 9) range we keep our marine environments in. It's not that salt water fish are more sensitive to ammonia, but rather that the % of free ammonia relative to the amount of total available nitrogen (TAN) increases dramatically as the pH climbs above 7.

Sounds to me like you are off to a great start! Have fun...
__________________
~Larry
____________
BEER: it's not just for breakfast anymore.
elwaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 08:57 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 173
Well i found out where my amonia was comming from in my tank. The barrel that i bought to do my water in was leaking amonia into my water. Has anyone had this happen to them before?
__________________
brianf40us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 09:02 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Barrel leaking ammonia? Got me on that one.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 09:46 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 173
I know that is what i thought to but the LFS (which i know very well and trust) said that this is not the first time they had this. They said the material used to make some plastics or the stuff the plastic is coated with has amonia in it and after a while leaks out. I tested my tank water with them and it had amonia. (cycling yet)

I then tested the water in the barel down in my basement and it had amonia in it as well. I then tested the water directly out of my RO machine and it had no Amonia. So the amonia had to be comming from somewhere between my RO machine and the Tank. This brought me to the barrel as the culprit.

The LFS told me that they use a barrel from a local hardware to mix their salt water. They told one of their customers to go and get a barrel to mix their salt but that person got a different brand barrel and they had amonia in their water.


I DUNNO I CONFUZED HAHa
__________________
brianf40us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 11:28 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
I got a new 44g rubbermaid trash can on wheels to make water. Actually my wife made me get a 3rd trashcan. Well... one is for the ro/di water. Either the top off FW or the salt mix. The second can is for the 40g of waste water when I do the PWC. The third was for the ro/di waste water when she saw how much was going down the drain. Washing machine is where it goes now.

Ditching the barrel, right??
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amonia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amonia level ayrton Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 02-06-2005 09:50 AM
amonia wont go down biohazzrd Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 01-21-2005 09:01 AM
HELP!! Amonia lando Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-17-2004 12:39 PM
amonia lando Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 06-04-2004 06:45 PM
Amonia ?? Enzo Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 04-04-2004 07:50 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.