Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-21-2012, 10:58 AM   #401
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjamontan
Placement for light is the issue
Can you clamp them to the Rim of your tank ?
I have my scubber screen in the sump and my lights hanging outside the glass. Kdpuffer i just don't see why you would want two scrubbers competeing with eachother. Do you have or know anyone who uses a dual scrubber setup
__________________

__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 11:04 AM   #402
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jjamontan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Queen Creek,AZ
Posts: 973
I have the room to put one light on the left side of the sump. Do I need it on both sides?
__________________

__________________
jjamontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 11:05 AM   #403
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Well there is something called a one sided scrubber but it's not as efficient as the normal two sided. You can't do one on the front of the tank and one on the back longways
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 11:37 AM   #404
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jjamontan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Queen Creek,AZ
Posts: 973
I had to cut a supporting brace to fit the sump. No room up top only to the left if on the right it would be under water
__________________
jjamontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 11:39 AM   #405
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Ok between the back of the sump and the wall is there enough room for the light? Also how many inches is it from the top of your sump to the water level in it?
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 12:24 PM   #406
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jjamontan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Queen Creek,AZ
Posts: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hondatek
Ok between the back of the sump and the wall is there enough room for the light? Also how many inches is it from the top of your sump to the water level in it?
Ok there is about 8" from the wall. I guess t can get one on the back
__________________
jjamontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 12:28 PM   #407
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
I think that left corner is the place then . I got command stick on hooks and stuck them to the upper trim of the sump and have my lights clamped to them. I think that will be your best bet
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 12:31 PM   #408
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jjamontan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Queen Creek,AZ
Posts: 973
Should I make one below the water line using air?
__________________
jjamontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 12:40 PM   #409
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
No it has to be out of the water . Just get a small adjustable pump and plumb it up so the screen is in the top left corner of the sump but out of the water
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 01:17 PM   #410
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alberta canada
Posts: 2,360
Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hondatek
Can you clamp them to the Rim of your tank ?
I have my scubber screen in the sump and my lights hanging outside the glass. Kdpuffer i just don't see why you would want two scrubbers competeing with eachother. Do you have or know anyone who uses a dual scrubber setup
No I don't know anyone doing a dual, I am going to try once I get a sump going. Like I said if you size them to be the same surface area as 1 large one there is no difference and they are not competing with eachother so long as the total surface area of the 2 is the same as the 1. For example 1 that is 5x5 has the same surface area as 2 that are 2.5x5 or perhaps 1 3x5 the other 2x5. If you over sized them to have a larger total surface area then yes it could lead to them battling between them but even then you can use it to an advantage when it comes to cleaning. Clean the more heavily covered one and that would allow the other one to to pic up the slack then clean that one. You would reduce the risks of small increases in the nutrients in the water. The reason I would do 2 is for the cleaning, clean one one week then the other the following it's the same principle as cleaning one side of a big one without the risk of loosing the algae on the other side. Another benefit of doing 2 would be if there is limited space then you could place one on either side of a reactor or baffle or whatever else might be in the way.
__________________

__________________
kdpuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
start

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Do I Need To Start SaltWater? CleverBs Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 21 10-13-2011 07:56 PM
Jungle start Zyme? and New 55gal tank angel4335 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 09-19-2011 02:09 AM
Want to start adding plants WinksFish Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 08-24-2011 06:58 PM
Issues with getting siphon to start on Fluval Edge! electro_cute Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 08-06-2011 04:02 PM
Wanting to start an aquarium Mare_226 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 07-02-2011 08:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.