Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-30-2012, 12:21 AM   #471
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jjamontan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Queen Creek,AZ
Posts: 973
All went well when out of town. Now my problem is that I have lots of red algae in the tank as well is in the sump. I guess the light in the sump is hurting more than it is helping.
__________________

__________________
jjamontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 11:20 AM   #472
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jjamontan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Queen Creek,AZ
Posts: 973
Let me ask a question when attaching my rodi unit to the sink in my laundry room and turn the water all the way up can I not be filtering the water correctly? I don't have a pressure gauge. But it is 100 gallons per day and I get a 5 gallon bucket filled up in under a hour
__________________

__________________
jjamontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 12:29 PM   #473
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jjamontan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Queen Creek,AZ
Posts: 973
Talking to myself, I am doing a water change. Pulled out 10 gallons and found that the water I got ready is at 90 degrees, o crap ice and under the fan
__________________
jjamontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 12:58 PM   #474
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Khij159753's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Salem
Posts: 1,586
I wish I could help but I dont use a unit. I just buy distilled water... For now. Maybe you just have great water that just doesn't need very much filtering. Sorry I couldn't be much help but I know how it feels to just be talkin to yourself and it sucks!
__________________
Khij159753 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 01:34 PM   #475
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Your ro water should always come out cold... Are you sure you have it hooked to the cold water line not the hot? Also if your getting 0 tds I would say everything is fine.
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 02:19 PM   #476
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alberta canada
Posts: 2,360
Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
If your getting 5 gallons in an hour I would suspect you don't have the flush valve set. My unit recommends setting it back to 1/3, so for every gallon I filter I have 2 gallons wasted. This ends up producing approximately 15 gallons over 8-10 hours. I also suspect your hooked into the hot water line which you don't want.
__________________
kdpuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 02:20 PM   #477
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alberta canada
Posts: 2,360
Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
Oh and ftr the wasted water is used by the system to flush the RO membrane and keep it clean, it's not just water going down the drain.
__________________
kdpuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 06:38 PM   #478
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jjamontan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Queen Creek,AZ
Posts: 973
The reason the water was at 90 was the heater in the mixing tank was to high. I made 7 gallons last night and had the water low it was almost at a drip and took about an hour and a half. Also picked a purple hammer with green tips. Only has two heads and they are small but its cool
__________________
jjamontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 12:54 PM   #479
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jjamontan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Queen Creek,AZ
Posts: 973
Well the manderin lasted for a month
__________________
jjamontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 10:48 PM   #480
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
Sorry
__________________

__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
start

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Do I Need To Start SaltWater? CleverBs Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 21 10-13-2011 07:56 PM
Jungle start Zyme? and New 55gal tank angel4335 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 09-19-2011 02:09 AM
Want to start adding plants WinksFish Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 08-24-2011 06:58 PM
Issues with getting siphon to start on Fluval Edge! electro_cute Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 08-06-2011 04:02 PM
Wanting to start an aquarium Mare_226 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 07-02-2011 08:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.