Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-14-2012, 02:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
API phosphate test?

I know everyone hates API tests but does the phosphate one work? Because Mine always says zero which I thought was good but I am getting algae growth (bubble, green hair, cyano) and everyone keeps saying I must have phosphates in my water?
__________________

__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:09 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jose7878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 577
Ha. Lol. I think everyone's always say 0.
__________________

__________________
**********Visit my build thread*********
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...al-193525.html
jose7878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:10 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
So is there a GOOD phosphate test out there?
__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:32 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Red sea tests , salifert and Hanna checkers are a lot better than API
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:57 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
Thanks honda. I guess I will pick up one of those. Or maybe just take my water to my LFS and see what they say.
__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:59 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
No problem. I personally use the red sea kits myself. They are kinda expensive but IMO worth it.
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:11 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
Ya I use API everything cause its cheap but I guess there is some spots where you just cant go that route. The API nitrate/KH/CA tests seem to be right on though compared with my friends red sea tests.
__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 05:12 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jose7878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 577
Yeah API isn't bad for those test but for phosphate you definitely need a RedSea or a Hanna P04 checker.
__________________
**********Visit my build thread*********
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...al-193525.html
jose7878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 12:23 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Reeffanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa canada
Posts: 380
I just kept telling myself that the cyano was consuming all the phosphates before the API test could read it, but ya ill agree it always reads 0.
__________________
Reeffanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 12:38 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
Ok so what's the best way to get rid of phosphates? A reactor?
__________________

__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
api, phosphate, test

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.