Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-08-2009, 03:23 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 228
it took me 2 days to get mine filled up 72 gallon tank and 20 gallon sump. I had a party the 2nd day and finish filling it up and turining on pump around 1am
__________________

__________________
cooltop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 03:25 PM   #22
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
You can always get a booster pump for the RO/DI unit.

If your unit is close enough to the tank I would run the output line right into the tank and let the thing run overnight. Sitting around waiting and watching water drip like it does out of a RO/DI unit will drive you mad. Like the Ronco (something or another) set it and forget it. LOL

I have a line coming off my RO/DI that runs all the way over to my sump for top off. I also have an ATO system but rarely use it anymore.
__________________

Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 08:58 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
mtlion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 347
Thanks for advice, a booster pump is pretty much out of the qustion but I am going to stick it out with the trickle RO/DI pump and have some nice water for my tank!
__________________
mtlion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 09:15 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sooju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 257
Is it full yet?
__________________
sooju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 03:29 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
intimatecple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pottstown, PA
Posts: 335
Send a message via Yahoo to intimatecple
Where in PA are you??I may be able to tell you were someplace is. might be a little late no tho
__________________
intimatecple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 04:51 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
mtlion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 347
No, tank isn't full just yet, about 3/4 of the way, not including the sump. I have to run the RO/DI from my kitchen sink and can't do it all hours. Should be full and running soon, just ordered my Fiji base rock from Marcorocks.com! Hopefully will be posting photos soon! I'm in the Altoona area of PA BTW, about 45 minutes from Penn State Main campus.
__________________
mtlion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 04:54 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
nanoluvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Coldspring, TX
Posts: 482
Send a message via AIM to nanoluvr
is 50 lbs enough LR? I always thought it was best to use at least 1.5 lbs. per gallon
72= 112.5Lbs.
__________________
Jeff
nanoluvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 04:59 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
mtlion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 347
Ok here it goes, here are some photos! Water should clear up once the sump in up and running
__________________
mtlion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 05:00 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
mtlion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 347
Here are the final 2 that I couldn't get on the last post!
__________________
mtlion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 05:09 PM   #30
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I think I had just about 200lbs in the tank when I had a 72 set up.

Just a tip on your plumbing. You are probably going to want to use a shorter drain line hose. You are going to run into problems with it going down hill and then back up before dumping into your wet/dry.
__________________

Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setup, tan, tank setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New tank setup! nhitch20 Cichlid Discussion 4 11-11-2009 02:09 PM
Whole tank setup melosu58 Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 25 03-20-2008 04:32 PM
new tank setup crook280 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 12-11-2005 02:52 AM
30-40 gallon tank or hole setup wanted?Or any ref ready tank Dewey Midwest & the Dakotas 2 03-13-2005 10:12 PM
How does this tank setup look? Rsquared333 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 08-21-2004 11:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.