Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-10-2011, 10:28 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 131
Auto Top Off Question

Hey Guys,

I'm looking at ATO's for my 30 gallon reef tank. I'm away for days at a time and don't want my wife to have to worry about adding water to the tank. First, for filling my tank during water changes, I use "Store Bought" water from my LFS. After research, I have been reading that most people aren't using salt water for the Auto Top Off supply?

Am I correct in so much as the Top Off water supply should be RO/DI water only with NO Salt Content? I'm assuming that since as water evaporates, salt remains behind and we don't want to add more to the system during top-off?

I want to set this up correctly, so any confirmation would be appreciated!

Have a great day!

Mike
__________________

__________________
MKFMedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 10:32 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Yep, you use regular unsalted water for top offs. Only use salt water for the water changes.
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 10:36 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 3,287
Only top off with ro water no salt or your SG will go up. I use a one or 2 gallon container for top off water just to play it safe. I haven't had one stick on but I have had the line come out of the holder and the water drip on the floor and it is easier to come home to a gallon of water than 5 on the floor.
__________________
joy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 11:00 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kay-bee19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 801
I don't do weekly water changes so I top off with saltwater to somewhat replace the skimmate that my protein skimmer extracts from the tank (maybe one liter of SW ten days after my last water change) to replace the removed salt); but to replenish water water lost to evaporation I auto top off with RO/DI water (over a gallon a day).
__________________
Rift Lake and Reef tanks.
kay-bee19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 11:26 AM   #5
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
I had a problem with my salt magically vanishing. I was told that I could top off with distilled, but when I did and would check my salinity later on, it would no longer be around 1.025...didn't have a skimmer at the time so...where did my salt go?
__________________
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 11:43 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Smithcinema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 187
A corner overflow for good water movement and oxygen exchange with a tight fitting glass cover the way to go never need to top off .... water change every 2 weeks just another thing less to worry about !! But u need the corner overflow for proper oxygenation of water
__________________
Smithcinema is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 03:21 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 131
Hey Thanks Everyone!

I do plan on using a smaller container, and with my controller, only setting it to come on a limited amount of times during the day, for a few minutes at a time. That way, even if I have the dreaded "Failure" of floats, it won't run until the container is dry and dump all that water on the floor. I also like the idea of going with a 3 gallon container.

There is so much to learn! Thanks for all the advice and input.

Mike
__________________

__________________
MKFMedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
auto, auto top off

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Challenging Question on Bacteria . . . Wy Renegade Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 66 01-29-2012 08:56 AM
50 gal stocking question and Fluval in/outlet placement sobersteve323 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 08-15-2011 12:14 PM
RO filter and auto shut off ozorowsky DIY Projects 3 08-12-2011 07:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.