Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-14-2004, 09:52 AM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Nice setup for sure.

I have a gravity operated auto top off that uses a styrafoam float from a farm supply store. As the water level falls the float drops opening up a valve that allows water to syphon down from a storage container thats mounted above the floats level. When teh water level rises to a point the valve closes then the topoff ends till the water level drops again.

I know only having to add water to the system once a week is alot better than every day or every other day. Auto topoffs are great for helping stablize salinity.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2004, 01:01 PM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
You have a pic of that FF?
__________________

__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2004, 04:07 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 617
I just put that float switch on my Christmas list! I've been adding 3/4 gal every day.
__________________
Gatorfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2004, 04:15 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Va
Posts: 478
How does the Ultralife float compare to the autotopoff.com float? For about the same price, you get two floats with the autotopoff.com unit.
__________________
TygGer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2004, 04:26 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
I have my auto top off set up the same and have had the pump for aobut 1.5 years. It has run out of water several times with no problems also. I would not worry about putting the timer on the top off. I use a salt bucket to hold my water and it has worked out well...
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2004, 04:48 PM   #16
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I just added a second float for a saftey check on getting too much water in my sump. I also added a relay to my floats since I did not have one before. My floats were from ebay and were relativley cheap. The relay and parts were around $10-15.

I have had my top off pump run dry a few times too but it is still chugging. I just need to figure out a way to feed my top off from my RO automatically.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2004, 07:37 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco, Ca.
Posts: 165
can these auto top off systems work for a sumpless system? or do the ripples on the surface cause too much fresh water to be dumped in the tank?
(I have a aquafuge on the back, but I dont know if that would work either)
__________________
40 gal reef
mrpope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 12:55 AM   #18
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
As long as your pump is not that big, you could supply the top off water directly to the tank.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 02:50 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rocky Mount VA
Posts: 943
It would work but you would need to put a float switch into your fuge or in my case the tank. that would take up a lot of needed space and be unsightly to look at. Anybody have any suggestions to get around this?
__________________
Vote for AquariumAdvice

28gal bowfront
40lbs livesand(bag from LFS), 30lbs live rock(LR.com)
2 O. Clowns
1 peppermint shrimp, 5 red leg hermit crabs,
4 mexican turbo snails, 15 nassarius snails
ricordea mushroom, candy cane coral,
super color polyps, hairy mushrooms
bubble coral, hawiian feather duster
coralife lunar 2x65, HOT magnum canister
10 Gal refugium(chaeto) & seaclone skimmer
RMPD109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2005, 10:18 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 221
Where did you find the container you are using as you're refugium? Looks like it would work/fit under my tank almost perfect.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Marine Tank: Oceanic 58 Gallon RR â–* Established October 2004
Planted Tank: Oceanic 58 Gallon â–* Established September 2005
ASpec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
auto, pics, setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What auto topoff system do you use? chase33 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 06-05-2007 02:30 PM
Non-electric auto-topoff for ro system luckycat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 07-15-2005 01:45 AM
Bearfan's Auto-Topoff Documentation Bearfan DIY Projects 7 01-14-2005 07:15 PM
Auto Topoff Valve sevise Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-27-2004 07:41 AM
Anyone have auto-topoff go wrong?? Joshsmit56001 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-18-2003 04:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.