Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-28-2009, 06:25 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
[B]Can you cycle the tank freshwater then add the salt?[/B]

Hi everyone
I was a little curious about cycling a tank for saltwater use, is it possible to do a fishless cycle using fresh water then after the tank has cycled add the salt?
Just a thought.
__________________

__________________
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:19 AM   #2
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
No, different strains of bacteria
__________________

__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 09:53 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I agree, if you cycle with FW as soon as you add the salt, it will kill off the FW bacteria.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 09:56 AM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I agree with the rest.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 05:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainAhab View Post
No, different strains of bacteria
I thought the answer would be no, but I've read on some of the forums that people were using gravel and or filter material from a freshwater system to help jump start the process, this is the reason i asked. On another note when performing a fishless cycling of a saltwater tank do you have to change any water during the cycle or only the 50 % at the end of the cycle?
__________________
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:03 PM   #6
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
the latter unless the ammonia gets extremely high... greater than 4ppm IME, then I'd PWC to get it back in the 2 ppm range.
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 08:07 PM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I agree with the captain. 2 choice is the one.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 08:24 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Thanks guys, want to get or build a 180 gallon tank and it will get very expensive quickly if i have to do water changes everyday.
__________________
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 08:47 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
About the only thing that using FW filter media to cycle a SW tank would be the die-off, thus an ammonia source.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 09:10 PM   #10
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64 View Post
About the only thing that using FW filter media to cycle a SW tank would be the die-off, thus an ammonia source.
Raw shrimp is cheaper.
__________________

__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, freshwater, salt, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How often can I add Aqua-Cycle in Freshwater tank? masai_chadi Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 10-24-2007 02:23 AM
How often should you add salt to your freshwater tank??? Tiger_Oscar Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 07-30-2005 12:24 PM
Can I add salt water features to a freshwater tank. toddmd2 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 05-12-2005 06:53 PM
Do you add salt to your freshwater tank? lilcam Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 09-03-2004 08:24 PM
Cycle a salt tank with freshwater materials? CatfishFanatic Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 08-30-2002 08:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.