Bacteria Aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rakoda

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am still new in salt water aquariums
I've read many topics about this kind of bacteria that consume the ammonia
But then I thought why don't I make my own stock of this bacteria in case the ammonia level in my tank went hight

the idea is simple,
bring a small 2 gallon tank, fill it with saltwater, liverock and dead shrimp
when the dead shrimp dissolve i add another one and so on

that way I will have aquarium full of the good bacteria , if something happened to my main aquarium I just add spoon or two from this bacteria

but I thought before trying my idea, i would better ask
so what do you hink

A spoon of the bacteria? It doesn't live in the water, but in your rocks and sand. If you transferred all the live rock from your "bacteria tank" to the new tank, in theory it'd do what you say, but...

In your main tank, you'll end up with a LOT of bacteria. If something were to happen to it, the amount of bacteria from a 2g tank wouldn't do anything, in my opinion. In addition, nothing can really "happen" to your main tank's bacteria... assuming you don't dump an antibiotic in your tank or add any medication that you shouldn't. And if you did, whatever killed off the bacteria to start with would kill off the "new" ones you put in.

In theory, nothing wrong with the idea... in theory. They also sell "bacteria in a bottle" at the fish stores that basically does the same thing. But you'll find mixed opinions as to whether or not that stuff is any good also.

Not to mention I imagine your little bacteria tank would stink to high heaven.

If something happened to your DT to kill off all the bacteria, chances are placing more bacteria in there would just kill it too.

lets say I had to make full water change