Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-06-2008, 08:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Egypt
Posts: 25
Send a message via Yahoo to rakoda
Bacteria Aquarium

I am still new in salt water aquariums
I've read many topics about this kind of bacteria that consume the ammonia
But then I thought why don't I make my own stock of this bacteria in case the ammonia level in my tank went hight

the idea is simple,
bring a small 2 gallon tank, fill it with saltwater, liverock and dead shrimp
when the dead shrimp dissolve i add another one and so on

that way I will have aquarium full of the good bacteria , if something happened to my main aquarium I just add spoon or two from this bacteria

but I thought before trying my idea, i would better ask
so what do you hink
__________________

__________________
rakoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 08:25 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
A spoon of the bacteria? It doesn't live in the water, but in your rocks and sand. If you transferred all the live rock from your "bacteria tank" to the new tank, in theory it'd do what you say, but...

In your main tank, you'll end up with a LOT of bacteria. If something were to happen to it, the amount of bacteria from a 2g tank wouldn't do anything, in my opinion. In addition, nothing can really "happen" to your main tank's bacteria... assuming you don't dump an antibiotic in your tank or add any medication that you shouldn't. And if you did, whatever killed off the bacteria to start with would kill off the "new" ones you put in.

In theory, nothing wrong with the idea... in theory. They also sell "bacteria in a bottle" at the fish stores that basically does the same thing. But you'll find mixed opinions as to whether or not that stuff is any good also.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 08:27 PM   #3
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Not to mention I imagine your little bacteria tank would stink to high heaven.

If something happened to your DT to kill off all the bacteria, chances are placing more bacteria in there would just kill it too.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 08:33 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Egypt
Posts: 25
Send a message via Yahoo to rakoda
lets say I had to make full water change
now i can't put all of my fishes back in the tank, it will take long time before getting your bacteria back
but with this bacteria stock, you could just add your fishes + those bacteria and nothing is likely to happen , or am i wrong?
__________________
rakoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 08:36 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Egypt
Posts: 25
Send a message via Yahoo to rakoda
lets say you wanted to add a lot of fishes in short time (assuming your aquarium can suits em all)
instead of waiting weeks, just add some bacteria and add your fishes
thats all

I was saying 2 gallon aquarium because mine is 10 gallons
so I guess its more than enough
__________________
rakoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 08:42 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Very little of that bacteria actually resides in the water column, it is mainly in/on your substrate rock equipment.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 08:49 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Egypt
Posts: 25
Send a message via Yahoo to rakoda
Not a problem,
Lets say that I'll fill this tank with rocks and things that the bacteria lives on
__________________
rakoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 09:33 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pat8you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Va
Posts: 1,802
Send a message via AIM to pat8you
Quote:
Lets say that I'll fill this tank with rocks and things that the bacteria lives on
If you took the rock and stuff out of that tank and then put it in your main it might help. But there aren't very many situations where you would just see an ammonia spike. If it does happen you can just use this. So there is no need to set up another tank. Amquel does exactly what your talking about as well as reduces nitrites and nitrates.
__________________
Pat
pat8you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 09:38 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Egypt
Posts: 25
Send a message via Yahoo to rakoda
if there is such great solution for ammonia problems, why every body says don't introduce many fishes to a newly established tank?
and why others say don't add many fishes to your tank at once?
__________________
rakoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 09:46 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pat8you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Va
Posts: 1,802
Send a message via AIM to pat8you
Quote:
if there is such great solution for ammonia problems, why every body says don't introduce many fishes to a newly established tank?
and why others say don't add many fishes to your tank at once?
People recommend adding fish slowly to your tank because the bacteria in your main tank needs time to populate and catch up to the additional bioload of a new fish being added to the system. As long as you don't add to much live stock to your tank at once you won't have a problem. In the case that you did add to much at once and saw an ammonia spike it is unlikely that your bacteria tank would be enough to make up for this anyway. Not to mention what neilanh said

Quote:
Not to mention I imagine your little bacteria tank would stink to high heaven.
This would be a real issue. Adding a constant source of decaying matter to continue to feed the bacteria would cause this tank to be really stinky.
__________________

__________________
Pat
pat8you is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bacteria

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A stupid question about SW aquarium bacteria and humans prissysmom Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 10-13-2009 07:38 PM
Is my bacteria ok? Marconis Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 06-17-2007 12:56 AM
Bacteria in QT MarkW19 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 7 08-08-2004 10:20 AM
Where Do I Get Bacteria? AgCentral Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 05-09-2004 11:17 AM
Bacteria Fishymike Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 11-06-2002 04:12 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.