Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-18-2003, 12:46 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central PA
Posts: 971
Seriously, the Prizm is far less than a prize for laziness. If you are looking to waste money, you can donate the price to me through paypal instead....I could skim out as much from in front of my computer . I just recently put it back on my 30g the other day just to see what it would pull out after 6+ months of running skimmerless and heavy feedings. It doesn't pull out anything worthwhile (skimmate should be dark and thick), which means one of two things: either a skimmer isn't needed (could very well be, nitrates have always been 0ppm), or the skimmer sucks...either choice is better than the Prizm as a solution.
__________________

__________________
HoopsGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2003, 12:04 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 109
leafyseadragon,

I don't think there is much of a price difference between the regular Aqua C Remora and the Bak Pak. I think its only about $20.00. If you go with the remora, get the maxi jet pump as the rio's have a history of failure.

Brian
__________________

__________________
BrianH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2003, 12:31 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
leafyseadragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 205
Brian,

While it is true that the Remora costs only about $20 more than the Bak Pak 2, it lacks the biological filtration capability of the Bak Pak 2's Bio-Bale. Please correct me if I'm wrong about this.

Since this will be my first marine tank, I would like to have the larger margin of error that having both a protein skimmer and a biological filter provides. So even if I were to spend the $20 more on the Remora, I would have to spend $30 or so on top of that for biological filtration (Emperor). So as much as I would like a Remora, it would really cost me an additional $50.
__________________
leafyseadragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2003, 01:04 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Beacon, New York
Posts: 1,386
I have the BackPack in my wetdry sump. As long as the water level doesnt get lower than the Rio pump, the water level in the skimmer never changes. I have done 25% water changes in my tank and never turned off the skimmer, because the water lever never changed.
__________________
Bill The Cat For President!
stresco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2003, 01:45 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Highland Illinois
Posts: 556
Send a message via Yahoo to kribbz
leafy, as far as biological filtration goes, you can acheive this with the live rock and live sand in the tank. so with a good skimmer i don't think that a biological filter will really be necessary.
__________________
"The brighter you are, the more you have to learn."
-Don Herold
kribbz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2003, 08:51 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 109
Leafy,

Most reefers will advise against using any biological filtration except live rock & a DSB. Remember that using a mechanical filter with media(or a bio wheel) will increase the nitrate production in your tank. One of the reasons for using a skimmer is to reduce the nitratres, so IMHO your actually fighting against the skimmer by using a filter for biofiltration. I bet that most of the bak pak owners don't use the biofiltration feature on that skimmer.

Brian
__________________
BrianH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2003, 10:23 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
leafyseadragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 205
Brian,

In the words of Roseanne Roseannadanna, it's always something!

I had pretty much decided on the Bak Pak 2, then you tell me that most people don't use the biolfiltration feature. Therefore, maybe I should consider the Bak Pak 2R (reef) instead? This has no Bio-Bale, but compared to the Bak Pak 2, it has an improved outlet to reduce bubbles.

A question: if I go with the Bak Pak 2R, can I add a Bio-Bale later? It's not clear from the picture whether I could do that or not.
__________________
Fish are friends, not food.
leafyseadragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2003, 01:42 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 109
Leafy,

I don't own a bak pak so I don't know if you could add the bio bale. But since the 2R is different I would think that you can not.

Do you have FW experience? You seem to have the same issues I had when starting SW. I also could not believe that you didn't need a filter (in the FW sense). Many of my LFS's told me that I would need a filter(canister, HOT etc). But I decided I'd go with the experts on the boards advice and just use LR and a DSB. Well it's been a little over a year and what do you know, those online posters knew what they were talking about. I have never had an issue with biofiltration. The LR and DSB takes care of it all. Just make sure you have enough LR (1 - 1.5 lbs per gallon) and the 10 times per gallon water movement and you'll be set.

Brian
__________________
BrianH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2003, 01:49 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central PA
Posts: 971
What helped me rationalize it all was just understanding what the actual purpose of biomedia is....to provide surface area for bacteria to populate. When you think that most of us use gravel in our fw tanks, the gravel pieces are really poor for this when compared to each grain of sand. Hence, we add porous material and wheels to our filters to compensate for this lack of surface area. If we used this material as our substrate (or a substrate with more surface area..hint, hint) then filters would not be necessary for bio-filtration on fw either. I now use sand in my freshwater tanks, and have no problem with bioload!
HoopsGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2003, 01:53 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
leafyseadragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 205
Brian,

You caught me. I have had FW tanks on and off since I was a kid, and have killed my share of fish in the past. I am trying to avoid mistakes borne out of ignorance.

LR is expensive. I was planning to use 20 pounds of live rock for a 37 gallon tank, and let the biological filtration of the Bak-Pak make up the difference. Bad idea?
__________________

__________________
leafyseadragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
prizm

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opinion on a Emperor BIO-Wheel Powerfilters Emperor 280 filter Rtrecost General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 01-19-2008 05:02 PM
Anybody using a Bak Pak or Bak Pak 2, or other HOB skimmer Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 10-20-2006 08:14 PM
Emperor 280 Fish_fanatic Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 01-25-2005 11:05 PM
CPR Bak-Pak 2 or Bak-Pak 2R-Which Protien Skimmer to Get? WhiteCloud Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 8 01-08-2005 04:54 PM
goodbye Prizm...hello Bak-pak! malkore General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 09-28-2004 01:59 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.