Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-18-2011, 09:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
E-rock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 125
I just built the stand for my new 90 gallon tank. And I thought I had made it with enough room for my 30 gallon sump. But long story short I desided I needed more room vertical to work. I figured for the same money as new 2x4s I could get PVC and run my sump in my basement. And I could now use a 55 gallon tank as my sump. And can have the room for turf scrubbers, fuges, top off...what ever. Now my main question is I have a mag 12 for my return is that enough ???? (I haven't measure excataly how tall it will be but I plan on raiseing the 55 up pretty high in my basement. Has anyone tried this or have any opinions?
__________________

__________________
E-rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 09:57 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 63
I have mine in the basement. I have a Mag 18. At an 8 feet head you would have a flow rate of about 700 gph with the Mag 12. This would probably be enough. Having it in the basement does make it easier to do water changes ect. As long as your wife doesn't freak out when you drill the holes in the floor. Lol.
__________________

__________________
Kmurraylhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 10:30 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
E-rock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 125
I feel like I am gonna be pulling the mag 12 back anyway from the 1100gph ish. Because my tank only has a 1" overflow. And thats the only other down side it seems like, having holes in the floor. Any other things that I should know about running a sump in the basement?
__________________
E-rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 10:33 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
slitherbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 2,191
A sump in your basement would make everything easier as far as room to work with stuff. As far as your return pump, it depends how far the water needs to travel.
__________________
Lalala
slitherbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 10:35 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 271
You might be able to run the pipes through the vents. A buddy of mine is doing this his 375g
__________________
Mike-words is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 10:54 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
E-rock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 125
does anyone know what that flexible PVC is called/ can I use that
__________________
E-rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 11:20 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TLTGF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 2,123
Its usually called SPA tube
__________________
TLTGF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 11:37 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Affordable Aquatic's Avatar




 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 174
Flexible PVC here:
Flex PVC Tubing : Affordable Aquatic Supplies LLC
__________________
Visit us online at www.AffordableAquatic.com
Affordable Aquatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 02:01 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
E-rock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 125
Is this tubing going to have the least resistance? And I fiqured using the reef central calc that after head loss I am going to have some where in 800-900 gph but it may go as low as 750gph. Is this going to be good enough?
__________________
E-rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 02:24 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Affordable Aquatic's Avatar




 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 174
PVC tubing is much easier to work with than rigid pipe, but you knew that. Making turns especially 45degree turns with rigid pvc increases the pressure and reduces flow significantly.

I keep my sump in the basement with around 22ft of head. Running a Reeflo Barracuda I'm still not happy with the amount of flow I get at the tank. One of these days, I will swap out the pump for something larger. I would suggest that you should figure out whatever pump the specs say you can use, and then go one or two sizes up. The worst thing that could happen is you put a ball valve at the output and throttle it back a little.
__________________

__________________
Visit us online at www.AffordableAquatic.com
Affordable Aquatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
base, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement water? skenny Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 20 08-20-2011 09:22 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.