Beginner considers 20 Gal. saltwater tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

toughguy1

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am a beginner and new to the site, but I have done a lot of research on salt water tanks. Of the 5 experts I have talked to, 2 of them do not recommend using a 20 gallon tank for saltwater. Before you comment, I can say that I am very scientific and diligent in terms of testing and maintenance. I intended to put a clown, a blue tang, a crab, a shrimp, and a couple of snails in there. I want to use crushed coral, an underfloor filter, a penguin 125, maybe add an anemone, and some fake coral. I have a heater, and I will buy a complete test kit. I will do a 20% water change every month, along with vaccuming and testing. Please advise if this is OK. I don't want to kill fish, but at the same time, I think many people in fish stores are very conservative with their rules of thumb. Keep in mind that I will probably go the freshwater route if too many of ya'll think that it won't work. Please advise.

20 gallon is way too small for a Blue Tang. a 70 gallon or bigger is recommended.

being a Rookie to the hobby myself I wouldnt suggest a 20 gallon to start.

I suggest you go with a bigger set up.

the main problem that you will experiance is not a problem maintaining your 20 gallon tank it will be not having enough room in the 20. soon it will be full to its max with life forms and you will get the urge to get more and youll be looking into a bigger tank. i had this problem with my 55 gallon and now im at a 125 gallon and still thinking bigger is better. if you can fight off this urge when it comes and stay satisfied with a 20 gallon go for it. ive seen some pretty nice small reef tanks. good luck with your choices and enjoy this hobby. be warned its werry addictive.