Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-16-2004, 08:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

beginner setup questions

im a newbie and have been researching saltwater aquariums for awhile now... and am planing on buying my set up this week...i plan on going with a fish only with live rock set up....im gonna start with a 29 gallon tank.... i was wondering how much live rock that is recommended....i know most say 1-2lbs for every gal but i was wondering if i could us alil less so i would have more room in my tank but want enough for my fish to hide in....also i was wanted to ask about how long it would take for me to cycle my tank with the rock and sand in it....i know im gonna need a light and was thinking about using a penguin biowheel to filter....is ther any other equipment u recommend me buying...and how big of a heater should i get for this tank... i want to get started on my cycleing sooon so any advice is great....(im completely new)

Old 06-16-2004, 11:20 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

any advice would be great plz

30lbs base rock
6lbs Brazilian LR
35lbs sand (20lbs of lfs ls i think it cycled my tank faster)

3 blueleg hermits
4 turbo snails
royal gramma
gold stripped maroon clown
crage34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 11:46 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic