Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-02-2011, 01:01 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
often times the carbon pulls out medications from the water, which in some ways defeats the purpous of having one.

personally i would setup a QT and i might actually use treated tap water for it, the copper that may be in the water will help kill off any parasites that the fish may be carrying, if thats not enough copper you can always add some more.
__________________

__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 02:16 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bloomk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 218
Well, I'm using it for new fish not treating for anything right now.
__________________

__________________
Bloomk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 03:06 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
well a filter is fine i believe
just not with carbon in it if you're adding medicines or something
in fact i keep filter floss in my sump in case i need an emergency qt i will have some cycled meida
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 05:27 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bloomk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 218
after the fish that died this morning, i think i will be using live rock in my qt tank from now on.. had an unexplained ammonia spike in less than 12 hours..
__________________
Bloomk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 05:46 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
promblem is you dont want live rock in a qt which may be used for medicating fish.I would run a filter(just sponge)in your dt and transfer it over to the qt when you need to use the qt,even a used filter sock wil help
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 06:29 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bloomk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by David S View Post
promblem is you dont want live rock in a qt which may be used for medicating fish.I would run a filter(just sponge)in your dt and transfer it over to the qt when you need to use the qt,even a used filter sock wil help
there inlies the problem.. that is exactly what i did, still got a huge amonnia spike and killed my racoon butterflyfish.. Ammonia was 0.25 at 10 PM, by 11 am the next day it was 1-2 ppm.. Only difference between this and the ohter times i have quarantined a fish is lack of live rock/sand.. Nobody can explain why, but most agree, live rock would have slowed down that ammonia spike..
__________________
Bloomk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 08:12 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
you still have to cycle a QT tank or get a power filter with a bio wheel

when the fish pees and poos it releases polutant into the water so it needs to be broken down
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 08:42 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bloomk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 218
See, this is why this hobby is sooooo frustrating.. One day people say qt tanks don't need to be cycled, just put water in the tank, set everything up, get the water stable and temp right and add the fish and do water changes... Others say no, you have to let it cycle... Some people say white, some people say black.. !!!!! Frustrating
__________________
Bloomk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 08:45 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
well you need some wat to break down ammonia into nitratres, so its either you do it chemically or biologically. if ammonia is present your fish will be poisoned and die
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 08:49 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bloomk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 218
Yea, I know... So my experience says u NEED live rock if you have a small QT... A cycled filter don't do the job
__________________

__________________
Bloomk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Benefits of no Hood LordErrorprone Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 04-19-2010 10:26 AM
Other Benefits of Water Changes eatsomepopcorn Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 02-01-2010 07:20 AM
benefits of plants cogburn Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 02-19-2008 11:25 PM
Actinic benefits, if any? fish_4_all Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 10-26-2006 06:40 PM
What are the Benefits of Deionization? robertfah Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 01-06-2006 10:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.