Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-27-2013, 05:00 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jolee0722's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 244
Do you know where I can buy a rimless tank or which company makes the best rimless tank.
__________________

__________________
Jolee0722 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 05:02 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
If money is no object, go acrylic. Stronger and clearer than glass, but expensive as all get out. Not sure about good manufacturers, though.
__________________

__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 05:55 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jolee0722's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 244
I'd like to save as much money as possible
__________________
Jolee0722 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 06:33 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tkey3425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 879
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jolee0722 View Post
Do you know where I can buy a rimless tank or which company makes the best rimless tank.
Our local petsmart had a nice rimless 40 gallon set up. Overflow holes are not required, you can use an overflow box. I personally would not drill my own tank. My 210 is drilled from the factory but it has extreme bracing under there. You could use a canister set up instead of a sump. Just keep up the maintenance on the canister and you won't have issues
__________________
Tkey3425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 11:51 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jolee0722's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 244
What do you put in your sump Tkey3425?
__________________
Jolee0722 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 12:46 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tkey3425 View Post
Our local petsmart had a nice rimless 40 gallon set up. Overflow holes are not required, you can use an overflow box. I personally would not drill my own tank. My 210 is drilled from the factory but it has extreme bracing under there. You could use a canister set up instead of a sump. Just keep up the maintenance on the canister and you won't have issues
Getting a rimless tank and then hanging stuff off the back of it kind of defeats the purpose imho.

Drilled tanks are far more reliable than a HOB overflow, I'd get the tank drilled while you still can.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 01:15 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jolee0722's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 244
I'm thinking of maybe buying a glass holes overflow kit and drilling the tank myself.
__________________
Jolee0722 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:38 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
BRS has a drilling kit:

Glass Drill Bits - Bulk Reef Supply
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 10:31 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tkey3425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 879
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jolee0722 View Post
What do you put in your sump Tkey3425?
Its a wet dry filter sump, Skimmer, live rock, carbon and GFO reactor, uv sterilizer, filter media on the top, skimmer pump, return pump, reactor pump, chaeto algae, heaters etc. basically any equipment I don't want in my tank goes in my sump, which is all equipment.
__________________
Tkey3425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 10:32 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jolee0722's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 244
Yes but the kits from glass holes come with drills too and bulkheads.
__________________

__________________
Jolee0722 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.