Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-01-2004, 12:51 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 776
Bio-Spira Marine

I just added bio-spira to my tank yesturday(Sat) and I am waiting for it to cycle it still isnt cycled. I have a 50gal saltwater setup with filstar xP3 Filtration system, Seaclone 100 Protein Skimmer, and turbo twist uv sterilizer. This morning i found my two damsels and my shrimp dead in my fish tank and it was quite cloudy, the only creature that survived was my feather duster, it might be because i didnt properly put them in, the way I did it is I let the bag sit in the water for about 20 mins and put in the fish. Also this morning I tested my nitrates, ammonias, phs. and my nitrites and my results were:

pH:7.9 (going to buy buffer to raise pH)

Nitrate:10

Nitrites:0.2

Ammonia:0.2

I am wondering if this bio spira will work, I did everything the instructions said and I got the right one for my salt water tank. I dunno if my test result show that my bio spira is working but tomorrow I will check it again to see if ammonia and nitrites have dropped to 0.

NOTE: Please post if u had success with the bio spira for the saltwater tanks, Thanks.
__________________

__________________
SaltwaterTeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 02:03 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central PA
Posts: 971
Bio Spira is not a conclusive way to immediately cycle a tank that would allow for the addition of livestock at the same time. The dead damsels and shrimp will attest to that. The cycle should be allowed to occur until all ammonia and nitrite have peaked and return to 0ppm (fueled by cocktail shrimp, uncured liverock, etc...not living things).

As far as acclimation, IMO floating the bag is not enough. It is necessary to know what specific gravity/salinity and PH the livestock are coming from...and then slowly match them up.
__________________

HoopsGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 09:36 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 410
I agree with hoops. The spira might be a good way to reduce the cycling time but still I think that just going in the next day and stocking the tank is too quick. The cloud is probably a bacteria bloom and nothing to worry about it will go away with time. I belive it even says on the bio spira package that it will take about a week (which is a great improvement on the 4-6 most of us had to wait) or so before livstock can be added. It is a shortcut from what I understand not a mircale. If I were you I would not add anything else until the lvls were down. Then one thing at a time very slowly and please search around this forum for drip acclimation it will help tremendously. Welcome to the hobby it is amazing at times and breathtaking at others but please remember these small words of advice that I got in this very forum as they are true and will save you alot of dead live stock and lost money.

In salt water aquariums only bad things happen fast.

Doan
__________________
Doan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 05:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Crete Illinois
Posts: 656
I have read the package, It says that you can put fish in right away after you put the Bio-Spira in your tank. I have decided not to use this stuff based on the information I got from here and from the inconclusive answered I recieved from the LFS sales people.

I decided to do mine the old fashoined way. Unfortunately I used fish instead of "shrimp".....Maybe I should have done a little more research on this before hand. As of right now, the tank is cycling at the pace it should and the fish are still healthy "looking"...so hopefully I can get through this without too much stress on the fish.
__________________
125 Gal-35 Gal Wet/Dry-Tetra-Tec PF500 HOB Filter
(3) AuquaClear 301 Powerheads-600 GPH Circulating Pump
Automatic Tempature Controller
5-6 Inch Sand Bed-200+ lbs of LR
Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 05:19 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 410
Just curious what kind of fish did you use??

Doan
__________________
Doan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 06:28 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: virginia
Posts: 39
Bio-Spira is just not a good idea for cycling a reef tank. You need to cycle with uncured live rock. Bio Spira in my experience with fresh water has made water conditions very unstable.
__________________
bulldog12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 10:23 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Crete Illinois
Posts: 656
Quote:
Just curious what kind of fish did you use??
I used 4 Damsel fish.
__________________
125 Gal-35 Gal Wet/Dry-Tetra-Tec PF500 HOB Filter
(3) AuquaClear 301 Powerheads-600 GPH Circulating Pump
Automatic Tempature Controller
5-6 Inch Sand Bed-200+ lbs of LR
Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 07:10 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 776
It turned out that I way overfed them, because yesturday Morning I checked Ammonia and it was 0.6! I asked the lfs what was the matter and she said to do a 50% water change and dont feed fish anymore, and she said we need to turn off the uv sterilizer for 2 weeks cuz after I saw the cloudyness I truned it on with protein skimmer. So far the fish are doing fine 1st day weve had them w/o probs.
__________________
SaltwaterTeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 09:58 PM   #9
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Isnt this the stuff that cycles your tank overnight Wow that sounds to good to be true.... O wait thats because it is. If your going to do it do it the right way, and allow at least 4-6 weeks for your cycle to complete. Also have you gotten any LR in there?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 06:58 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 776
No LR and I added bio-spira cuz I am lazy and dont want to wait such a long time. This morning I checked the ammonia and nitrite, and nitrite has dropped to 0 and ammonia was a different color than on the scale.
__________________

__________________
SaltwaterTeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bio, marine

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bio-Spira or bio-zyme products? Chriznat20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 35 01-23-2010 11:36 PM
Marine Bio Spira FS evercl92 Archive 0 04-04-2007 10:27 AM
We have Marine Bio Spira snapcrackler Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 05-12-2004 09:42 AM
marine bio-spira jeremy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 01-07-2004 01:42 PM
Marine Bio-Spira toddwess Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-30-2003 01:42 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.