Bioballs Keep or Remove

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TankTastic

Aquarium Advice Regular
Wish I had asked this before setting the tank up and letting it cycle adding fish etc. but Bioballs are they good or bad. I have read they are really good at turning harmful bacteria into nitrate which is a good thing right. But now I have nitrates not a serious problem. Somewhere around 15ppm 20 at most. I have performed numerous water changes now of 25% and one 50% but it's changed nothing. I have read up on drastic step water changes starting at 80% etc but don't want to ph shock anything and I am not experienced enough to handle the ph side yet. Plus I am worried the nitrates will be instantly back because of the Bioballs. I read somewhere a process of removing them slowly ans in sections but do I need to put something in their place?

TT

bioballs are nitrate factories.. I'd definitely remove them a couple at a time(unless you have no livestock then just rip them all out & cause another cycle in your tank.

I have livestock. So will remove them slowly if that's the way forward. Now I assume they were there for some reason so should I put something in their place?

If you don't have many bio balls and lots of live rock you should be ale to just take out the bioballs

The tank a reefmax came with a whole section built into the back full of Bioballs probably 50+ so would need to gradually remove them I think. I have 12k of live rock covered in diatoms and a good 2" of live sand. It's a 25g (us) tank. It has a built in skimmer that seems to be doing nothin most of the time a section full of Bioballs and a section for filtration. At the moment it's a fowlr setup but the plan has always been to get corals etc when it ready.