Bioload and Live sand

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

taryn2185

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have a 55 gal tank with 8 small fish. (2 blue with yellow tails damsels, 1 domino damsel, 1 banggai cardinal, 2 clownfish, 2 green chromis) All the fish are very small...the banggai cardinal being the largest. How do I know if I went over the bioload?

The fish store said that I HAD to cycle my tank with fish and that is why I bought the damsels and chromis. It also has live sand but no live rock(necessary? should I buy some?)

I bought all of these "cleaning supplies" they recommended, but I'm not sure how to clean the bottom of the tank without sucking up all of the live sand I put in. Do I just keep buying more?

I'm very new at this and I think the fish store is just trying to make me spend more and more money. I just want to make sure that they are all healthy and happy little fish!

Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com :)

taryn2185 said:
I'm very new at this and I think the fish store is just trying to make me spend more and more money.!
No offence but if a retailer see's you are new to the hobby, they will try selling you anything and everything they can.

"Cleaning supplies" is rather general a term but you do not need anything man made to keep the tank/sandbed clean really. With the fish you have a good supply of cerith, nassarius and/or nerite snails would be about all you need for an FO tank.

taryn2185 said:
The fish store said that I HAD to cycle my tank with fish and that is why I bought the damsels and chromis. It also has live sand but no live rock(necessary? should I buy some?)
Hopefullt >>this<< article will help dispell that myth...