bought a sea anenomy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

s10469

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I got a bubble(tip) anenomy(not real sure if the name is right) for my clown fish the other day. I put it in the tank a few hours later he moved himself upside down in a tunnel ceiling and has been there for two days. I am new to salt water (2 months) and probably have no buisness owning one, but i did. It looks healthy enough i just did not expect it would go upside down out of the light. I only have 3.5 watts per gallon so i figure thats ok. Is this normal, or will he just move around alot?

Can you return the anemome? You are correct in saying you have no business owing one, at least not at this time. 2 month old tank is way to new for it. What size tank? What kind of lights? What is your filtration?

While I tend to agree with cccapt. A friend got a Green Bubbletip Anemone and put it into a fairly new (just cycled) 20 Gal and it has since split 3 times and is still growing. (it is almost 2 years old now). I can't comment on the behaviour, but they can be kept in a fairly new tank. I think stable is more important then age.

How did you acclimate it? was it in a well lit tank at the LFS?