Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-24-2003, 03:05 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 9
bought RO system on Ebay, need help with install

Hello,

I bought a reef RO system on ebay from aquasafecanada. I imagine several others on the board have bought the same or similar ones on ebay so I thought maybe someone could help.

I am installing this and I am not sure if I put the valve on the correct pipe. I have a copper cold water pipe that comes up from underneath. Then attached to that pipe is a value with a smaller pipe that leads directly to my sink faucet.

I installed my RO valve on the copper pipe, and now I am not sure if it was supposed to be that pipe or the smaller one. Can anybody here help? I am attaching picture below. Thanks in advance!!
__________________

__________________
hobbes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 04:12 AM   #2
cj10488
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
That looks like it should be ok.. It looks like there is already a split going off towards a ??Dishwater?? as well as some sort of ??drinking water filter?? Spray nozzle???180 degree Water heater??.. It looks like you should be set to go though.. The one thing that I dont see is the "Waste" water line.. Most RO systems use Black Vinyl for the waste water.. If this is hooked up you should be good to go..

HTH,
James
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 07:43 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Defuniak Springs, Fl
Posts: 636
I have a question on that black waste water line that you mentioned.

I also hooked mine up this weekend and was wondering, while the reserve tank is filling, there is a constant flow from this black waste line to my drain. I read in the instruction that this is normal, but dosent make sense to me.

cj: does yours do this?
__________________
150 gal inwall reef tank, DIY everything except the tank and skimmer, MAG-24 return, 3 1200 Maxi-jets, Turboflotor 1000 Skimmer, 100qt Igloo Cooler sump.

www.panhandlereefers.com

Join N. Florida Regional Forum
GrndHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 09:42 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Olathe KS
Posts: 18
GrndHog -

The flow from the waste line is expected. RO systems produce a lot of waste water for every gallon filtered. Mine does the same thing.
__________________
hicmndr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 10:17 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Defuniak Springs, Fl
Posts: 636
hobbes, I didnt mean to step on your post, but I thought it would inform all.

I'd like to ask another in relation to our system.

To fill a container to mix saltwater is it best to go off of the DI connection straight from the unit, or draw from the spicket on the sink (the one that was provided in the RO kit).

It seems that the water coming from the spicket is not going through the DI filter which I think is the 6th stage of the unit.
__________________
150 gal inwall reef tank, DIY everything except the tank and skimmer, MAG-24 return, 3 1200 Maxi-jets, Turboflotor 1000 Skimmer, 100qt Igloo Cooler sump.

www.panhandlereefers.com

Join N. Florida Regional Forum
GrndHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 01:06 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 9
cj10488,

thanks for the response. The yellow tube is the waste water line, which I haven't hooked up yet. You're correct, the copper pipe that is connected to the hot water pipe goes to the dishwasher. Then there are 2 silver color pipes (thinner) one connected to the hot water pipe, the other to the cold water pipe that lead to the faucet. Wasn't sure if i should be connecting to this thinner pipe to the main copper one.
__________________
hobbes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 03:00 PM   #7
Sam
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: West Caldwell, New Jersey
Posts: 347
Send a message via Yahoo to Sam
All water taps should be on you main copper feed. Based on your photo, your hook up is fine the way it is. With relation to the DI output, GrngHog asked about, that is correct. The output from the spigot is RO water only. I use that for normal filtered water for the house. For the tank, I use only the RO/DI output. From your photo, this should be the one on the top-most left. Remember to check pH as everything is now stripped out of the water after the DI treatment. HTH 8)
__________________
Happiness is defined by the joy we bring to the lives of others, for without that, we ourselves cannot be.

Me
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2003, 12:23 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 117
I have just bought the same RO system as hobbes and am wondering about how to patch up the copper pipe after moving out of my rental suite. Just replace the entire pipe?
__________________
Ryan
c-bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2003, 12:36 PM   #9
Sam
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: West Caldwell, New Jersey
Posts: 347
Send a message via Yahoo to Sam
There are a couple of ways to do it. You can use a clamp that you can get from the hardware store. This is basically a neoprene gasket between a metal clamp that will prevent the hole from leaking. The best way however is to solder in a copper connector. This will make the pipe as good as new. HTH 8)
__________________
Happiness is defined by the joy we bring to the lives of others, for without that, we ourselves cannot be.

Me
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2003, 02:02 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Defuniak Springs, Fl
Posts: 636
I started filling last night, to fill a 5gal bucket it takes about 2 1/2 hours.

Does that sound right, or is that slow?
__________________

__________________
150 gal inwall reef tank, DIY everything except the tank and skimmer, MAG-24 return, 3 1200 Maxi-jets, Turboflotor 1000 Skimmer, 100qt Igloo Cooler sump.

www.panhandlereefers.com

Join N. Florida Regional Forum
GrndHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
stall, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you install a wall dimmer on Metal Halide/PC system? Dr. Dai Phan General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 06-23-2009 10:38 AM
Just bought HQI/T5 setup on eBay... Branew General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 04-02-2009 01:24 AM
RO DI system on ebay degbowl General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 01-23-2006 01:22 PM
Has anyone ever bought this on ebay? Dr.Nate Saltwater Reef Aquaria 49 05-09-2005 03:32 PM
Need Help! ebay RO system NewInTown Saltwater Reef Aquaria 17 04-29-2005 07:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.