Brand new guy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Stryyf

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all I am brand new to SW stuff.
Me and my wife have wanted to get a SW tank going for years but we waited till we bought our 1st house so we would not have to worry about moving around.

I am looking for a 29 (or so gal) I want to start real slow and low cost. I know it will take time and that is great for me as I want to spread to cost of the tank out over time.

Now for the questions....

1) where is a good online resource to see what all equipment i will need to get started with.
2) Is live sand a requirement to start?

As a afterthought, I am wanting to do a LR, fish, and maybe some soft coral later.

Instead of an online resource I would suggest a good book or two to start with. The reason I suggest a book is that it allows you to go reference something you might not be clear on fairly quickly. Websites like ours is great for clarifying what you read and expanding on that.

The book The New Marine Aquarium by Michael S. Paletta or The Conscientious Marine Aquarist by Robert M. Fenner are two great books for all hobbists starting out. You can find links to these book in our book library link above.

There are so many options on how you could setup the tank there isnt really a difinitive list of equipment needed. We can all give you a list of equipment we would recommend but you will find that that list will include some things for others while it will exclude those exact same things for others.

Live sand is not a requirement.