Brown Algae ??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Needles15

Aquarium Advice Activist
I need help!! I'm pretty new to the saltwater world but I have a 6gal fluval edge tank.. With what I think is brown algae? I'm a bit of a perfectionist so it's killing me.. My tank is 5 weeks old ..All my tests are great, Sg is 1.023 .. My 2 clowns seem happy as can be, I have about 10 hermit crabs, skunk cleaner shrimp, and a snail.. How can I get rid of this!!?

It's diatom algae. It is 100% completely normal in almost all new fish tanks and will wear itself out over time.

If you want to try limiting it's growth I would start by reducing your light cycle to 6ish hours a day.

It's diatom algae. It is 100% completely normal in almost all new fish tanks and will wear itself out over time.

If you want to try limiting it's growth I would start by reducing your light cycle to 6ish hours a day.

Okay awesome!! Thank you so much! I will def try the lower lighting hours! And this change in the light time won't effect my 2 clowns?? I don't have any coral yet either..

Fish don't really need a light except maybe for feeding. The lights are more for us than anything.

Take a look at your feeding schedule. An increase in silicates can also yield diatomic algae. There is a product called a VORTEX D-1 diatom scrubber. It removes diatoms and an additional resin removes phosphates as well.
Good Luck!
D

I need help!! I'm pretty new to the saltwater world but I have a 6gal fluval edge tank.. With what I think is brown algae? I'm a bit of a perfectionist so it's killing me.. My tank is 5 weeks old ..All my tests are great, Sg is 1.023 .. My 2 clowns seem happy as can be, I have about 10 hermit crabs, skunk cleaner shrimp, and a snail.. How can I get rid of this!!?

These guys hit it right on the head. :) less light and less food for now.