Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-05-2013, 11:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Brown Algae ??

I need help!! I'm pretty new to the saltwater world but I have a 6gal fluval edge tank.. With what I think is brown algae? I'm a bit of a perfectionist so it's killing me.. My tank is 5 weeks old ..All my tests are great, Sg is 1.023 .. My 2 clowns seem happy as can be, I have about 10 hermit crabs, skunk cleaner shrimp, and a snail.. How can I get rid of this!!?

Old 07-06-2013, 05:33 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

It's diatom algae. It is 100% completely normal in almost all new fish tanks and will wear itself out over time.

If you want to try limiting it's growth I would start by reducing your light cycle to 6ish hours a day.

Old 07-06-2013, 05:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mebbid View Post
It's diatom algae. It is 100% completely normal in almost all new fish tanks and will wear itself out over time.

If you want to try limiting it's growth I would start by reducing your light cycle to 6ish hours a day.
Okay awesome!! Thank you so much! I will def try the lower lighting hours! And this change in the light time won't effect my 2 clowns?? I don't have any coral yet either..
Old 07-07-2013, 01:11 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Fish don't really need a light except maybe for feeding. The lights are more for us than anything.
Old 07-07-2013, 02:39 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak

Take a look at your feeding schedule. An increase in silicates can also yield diatomic algae. There is a product called a VORTEX D-1 diatom scrubber. It removes diatoms and an additional resin removes phosphates as well.
Good Luck!
D
Old 07-08-2013, 05:25 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Quote: