Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-07-2006, 01:17 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Brown slime in my aquaclear refuge

Hi. I have a refuge that I made out of a aquaclear 70 filter. I have live rock rubble and cheato in it. I'm also using a 65w Argo bulb which is on for 14 hours a day. I have brown slime going thru the cheato and all over the refuge. Can someone pls tell me what is the matter. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 01:45 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
No offense, but there's no need to create the same thread in 3 different sections, makes the board rather messy.
__________________

Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 02:00 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I`ve already moved the other two to duplicate post. I left this one open on the boards.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 02:01 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
Your other posts were moved, please only post your question once, we will find it.

Sounds like you are having cyanobacteria problems, which are common in refuges with high nutrients and low flow. I don't believe there is much you can do for it, just manual removal when you see it.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 02:02 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Now to get back to the topic. Does it look like this?

http://www.fantasyreef.com/showthread.php?t=1519
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 02:03 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
As I said in one of the other reply's, low flow might be an issue as is the light cycle. How long has the fuge been up and running?
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 02:16 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
it's been running for 4 weeks. it's a aquaclear filter so i can't change the flow. The brown slime really doesn't look like the picture.
__________________
dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 03:28 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
I take it you have a custom baffle inserted? If so, you can drill slots to allow water flow to penetrate, but just depends on how the fuge is rigged.
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 04:01 PM   #9
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I was thinking since it was brown maybe it was dino but maybe it is cyano as Lindsay said. And if it is then James suggestion about low flow would be one of the causes.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 04:59 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
I used the bottem piece of the filter basket and siliconed it on the front so that water will flow thru it but the macro won't. Sshouldn't I lessen how long the light is on?
__________________

__________________
dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, clear, slime

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
brown algae in refuge Gomer4378 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 02-10-2009 04:19 PM
Brown Sand in Refuge.? bckane Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 10-25-2005 11:22 AM
Brown Slime Hara Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 01-16-2003 11:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.