Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-18-2015, 08:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
trnewsom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 45
Buffer and salt mix?

I was having some low Ph problems and had been putting some buffer in my top off water. Today I put some in my water change water and when I added my salt mix, it turned cloudy. Should I not use it?


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
trnewsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 08:37 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 5,291
Did it eventually clear?
How long?
What buff did you use?
I have seen cloudy water when I 'mass dose' tanks...
__________________

__________________
Mr.bandit is my YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcS...zPAhmB9QK0UvMA
https://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/auct...sp&Coralbandit
^^These are my weekly sales^^ GOT RAMS ???
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 09:59 PM   #3
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,541
have you done a cycle yet if not don't worry about a buffer ,
once you get through a cycle your ph should rise any type of additives can cause many unnecessary issues in a new tank
__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 10:53 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
trnewsom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 45
This is an established tank (7yrs). The water is not in the tank but in the trash can I use for mixing. I just don't want to kill my fish if I use it. Buffer was Alkalin8.3-P KH Buffer.Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1442627463.810015.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	39.5 KB
ID:	278193.


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
trnewsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 12:21 PM   #5
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,541
why do you think you need a buffer , how low is your ph

give us your tank states all your parameters , buffers are not always the answer

Adding stuff before knowing what is causing the issue isn't the kind of fix you want as it can lead to further issues
__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 01:01 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
trnewsom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 45
My Ph was under 7. According to my fish guy who services a couple other tanks in this area, it is our water. They recommended adding buffer to my top off water. My tank is now a little above 8 so I decided to check my change water to avoid a sudden drop. It was about 7.5 so I decided to put some buffer in it before I used it. It clouded up and there is a white film on everything in the can. I don't know whether to discard it or if it's safe to use. I hate to discard 30 gallons of water if I don't need to.


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
trnewsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 01:49 PM   #7
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,541
Ph in all the water I mix is low all the time once I add it to the tank the air gas exchange levels it out , I run a steady 8.4 adding 10% of new water brings it down just a tad to around 8.3 letting it run in the tank 24 hrs you will see your ph rise back to it's normal levels , no reason to stress out over a discrepancy in ph levels , If I stressed out over every little thing in my tank I would have made it crash by now , as long as you have good air gas exchange on the surface you are set ,
if you ever read back on a lot of the older threads you will see how many have started dosing all types of additives than wondered why there was so many issues ,
the ocean isn't dosed why should your tank that's how I look at it ,
we all see changes in ph levels at water change 10% isn't going to change things much
running in the tank will help it level out it just takes time
you don't want to add fuel to a fire so why add fuel to your tank
__________________

__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
buffer, salt, salt mix

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
regular salt mix vs. reef salt mix sansouci01 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-27-2013 07:29 AM
Salt Mix- reef or non reef mix? carey Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 04-16-2011 10:31 PM
To mix or not to mix? Aquasoil and SMS evercl92 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 10-22-2007 11:54 PM
Seachem Reef Buffer/Marine Buffer pH 8.3 L2 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 06-05-2006 10:29 AM
Experience with SeaChem Acid Buffer & Alkaline Buffer _Nemo_ Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 01-23-2004 12:02 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.