Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-12-2011, 10:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
leftyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 824
Buying an already running tank...

I am upgrading from a 29 gallon to a 72 gallon tank. The new tank is established and I'm buying it on Monday and transporting everything then. I have an existing 29 gallon and want to move the live rock and inhabitants into the new tank.

Should I buy new sand for the tank and mix in a little of the old sand from the 72 gal?

Can I move my live rock into the new tank without issues?

Do I use the 72 gal water or mix new water and use some of the 72?

I get opposite answers everywhere I read and am looking for someone who has done this before.

Thanks for any help.
__________________

__________________
leftyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 11:07 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Just.A.Bit.Salty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Murrieta,CA
Posts: 294
You don't need to mix in any old sand , get all new.
As long as your current live rock is cured then yes you can move into the 72 with no issues. Get new water you can keep 10 or so gallons if you want just make sure you keep the old filter media.
__________________

__________________
Here a water change, there a water change, everywhere a water change
Just.A.Bit.Salty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 11:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
why get all new sand, why not rinse off the established sand from the new tank. get all thecrap out of it and rinse off the critters so there is no die off
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 08:18 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
leftyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 824
Thanks guys. I do like to do deep sand bed, so I need more sand anyway. If I rinsed it, I would have to use RO water? And how do I know I rinsed it well enough? I am keeping all the media the same, definitely. There is established live rock in the 72 as well so there should be a pretty good source of bacteria.

Do either of you do a deep sand bed (DSB)?
__________________
leftyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The tank is up and running AH-99p Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 01-30-2006 04:33 PM
Finally!!! Tank is up and running dustybrannum Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 28 08-12-2004 01:44 PM
Tank up and running.....now what? Overstocker Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 02-03-2004 10:55 PM
New tank is up and running! MR294 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 08-30-2003 01:52 PM
Just got my new tank up and running!! rthoman Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 07-10-2003 09:06 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.