Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-10-2007, 04:21 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Buying live rock online?

Has anyone ever purchased LR online? I just recently purchased about 15 lbs of LR and 10 lbs of base rock. However, I'm a little disappointed in the condition of the rocks. I don't know what to base it on because I've never done it before. But the rocks definitely don't look like the pictures they show on the internet (not that I'm totally surprised about that). Anyway, it seems as though there used to be decent color on the rock. For the people that have purchased over the internet, how does your rock look when you first received it and how long did it take to "come back to life." Thanks!

Old 01-10-2007, 04:28 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin

Tank of the Month Award

I`ve bought all my LR from the LFS so I`ve not bought it online but it will sometimes look bad but as you add it to your tank it will go back to it`s beautiful self provided your calcium level is where it needs to be. When you get it from online you need to scrub it really good in SW and then cure it unless you are currently cycling your tank in which you can cure it as you cycle your tank.

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank

AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 04:29 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I bought 150Lbs of base rock from marcorocks.com and I am pleased! A lot of folks use http://tampabaysaltwater.com/ for LR and are happy. Where did you get yours?

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about: