Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-19-2012, 02:23 PM   #401
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
redsea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 8,066
I think a 10g would work, a 29g would be even better. You just need a basic filter for a QT, nothing special.
__________________

__________________
Please don't forget about the toxins in some corals (like zoas and palythoas)
180 gallon reef announcement!:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMgmb124jrs&t=35s
redsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 02:55 PM   #402
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ibrahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,559
A sponge filter with an air pump works well too.
__________________

__________________
Ibrahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 03:09 PM   #403
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
+1 for convincing

quarantining is the unsexy not-much-mentioned aspect of this hobby.. until things go wrong.

Just get a cheapy HOB filter that has a sponge or some filter floss in it. Take the carbon out.
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 03:58 PM   #404
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
caitlynnanne9189's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 793
Ok so my next thing cuz the only place I can think to keep it is in my living room. Could I keep sand in there and maybe a starfish? Id be willing to put a lil more into it if it wasn't so ugly just sitting there lol!
__________________
caitlynnanne9189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 04:00 PM   #405
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Wouldn't put a substrate or inverts in it. If you have to medicate it could kill the inverts and the meds might never wash out of the sand completely.
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 04:04 PM   #406
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
caitlynnanne9189's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottayy
Wouldn't put a substrate or inverts in it. If you have to medicate it could kill the inverts and the meds might never wash out of the sand completely.
Is there a way to take them out just if I need to medicate and then maybe move the sand. I know I won't be able to just have an empty tank running so I was trying to get around it. Could I just put a few pieces on live rock in there and move them
If I need to medicate?
__________________
caitlynnanne9189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 04:13 PM   #407
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Well I'm sure you could. But whatever's in there your biological filter is going to grow on. Move it and you'll have to recycle. You could keep a few small danios in there to have some movement and keep the tank cycled.
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 04:22 PM   #408
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
You can still make it pretty Background, artificial corals, ceramics
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 04:36 PM   #409
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
caitlynnanne9189's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottayy
Well I'm sure you could. But whatever's in there your biological filter is going to grow on. Move it and you'll have to recycle. You could keep a few small danios in there to have some movement and keep the tank cycled.
Maybe just a few fake plants maybe? Leave them in there. And danios? What about a damsel? They are so much prettier! Lol
__________________
caitlynnanne9189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 05:19 PM   #410
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
caitlynnanne9189's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 793
I'm still on the fence about a QT but I'll just have to see what happens. I'm gonna get my tank set up first.
__________________

__________________
caitlynnanne9189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5 gallon, 75 gallon, build, reef, reef build

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
40 Gallon Breeder Reef/ Stand Build!! Freshnoob1 DIY Projects 31 03-06-2012 10:14 PM
125 gallon reef build... from the beginning lovemyreef Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 02-05-2012 12:16 PM
55 gallon reef - First Saltwater Build Ever! matthewh133 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 200 11-28-2011 03:26 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.