Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-26-2008, 06:01 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
Post Calcium Reactor? Why?

Why are Calcium Reactors needed for a reef aquarium? I am trying to understand the concept just wondering if I can get some more input on it. I know it helps with Coraline algae and snail shell growth, but am I missing something? Let me know..

Thanks
__________________

Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 07:35 PM   #2
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
It's more than just coraline and snails. SPS and other corals feed heavily on it. If you have an SPS dominated tank, it's possible that they're depleting the calcium faster than your weekly water changes is replenishing it.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 08:04 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
Ah. I c yes. Now I know when I start getting SPS corals maybe sometime during the Summer Time. Calcium reactor with be on my list. Do you know if they make a HOB reactor?
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 08:11 PM   #4
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
A calcium reactor is only needed for HIGH calcium/alk demand SPS systems. And it's not just a reactor that's needed. You also need a co2 bottle w/regulator, bubble counter and pH controller/monitor. It's not a cheap or simple setup.
If you get to the point where partial water changes don't keep your levels up, you can just dose a 2-part solution. I dose 2-part every day.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 08:16 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
Wow! OK. maybe i will not load up with SPS corals but who knows knowing me i'll go all out for it.....
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 11:00 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
One other thing I would add to the list that ccCapt mentioned is computer control. When you start messing with c02 and CA you really need to be able to monitor your pH 24/7 and have function to stop dosing if need be. A CA reactor is not something to just add on a whim it is one of those additions that require several other components to function properly.

With that said I will soon be adding one to my system. I have mostly SPS corals in my tank as well as a frag tank packed full of SPS. I can't keep up with the demand and dosing is becoming expensive.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 11:09 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
Yeah I understand. I won't be putting to much SPS corals in my tank I would say one or 2 most likely one since I would not be able to monitor PH 24/7. I would mostly do LPS and Mushroom corals.
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 11:44 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
LPS coral will require CA levels to be maintained as well. A 2 part dosing system like ccCapt suggested should be fine for you. I'm looking at adding a reactor because of the high CA demand I have from all my SPS corals.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 12:44 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Just want to reiterate what folks have already said... by no means is a calcium reactor required for a healthy reef tank. Even if it's SPS dominated, it's still not a requirement. It's really more of a personal choice of convenience and cost. When you add a Ca reactor and add the necessary equipment, you also increase your chances of something really bad happening. If you can at all avoid it, I would.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 09:04 AM   #10
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
I agree with Kurt. I have never had one. I am able to keep good calcium levels by merely doing PWC`s. It is not as Kurt said a necessary piece of equipment for a reef tank.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calcium, reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alkalinity and Calcium HIGH Calcium reactor not hooked up ye doughboydj Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 05-29-2005 01:35 PM
calcium reactor or kalkwasse reactor PABLO_V Archive 0 03-17-2005 12:23 AM
Still have to dose calcium with a calcium reactor? limitup Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 09-08-2004 09:48 AM
Kalk Reactor Advice "Rephrased Calcium Reactor" cj10488 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 04-24-2004 01:34 AM
best way to add calcium kalk or calcium reactor? pomme Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 12-02-2003 09:26 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.