Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-10-2005, 09:45 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Can anyone recommend a good Magnetic Algae Scraper

I have a 40 Gallon Glass Breeder tank...and I have been using a Mag Float Magnetic Algae Scraper since I set it up 4 months ago. I now have some hard green aglae on the glass that the Mag Float will not scrape off.

I have seen some VERY pricey Magnetic Algae scrapers....but do I need to spend that much money??

Does anyone have any recommendations for a reasonably priced algae scraper that would appropriately matched in size with my 40 Gallon SW tank

Thanks,

WC

40 Gallon Breeder Salt Water: 4 inch DSB (2/3 Agaramax & 1/3 Sea Flor), Bak Pak 2R Skimmer w/ BBX, 2 x JBJ PHs, Coralife Lunar Aqualight (2x96w), 30lb Base Rock and 40lbs of Live Rock.
Inhabitants: Purple Firefish, Pygmy Angel, Lawmower Blenny, 2 Cleaner Shrimp, 1 Peppermint Shrimp, Pistol Shrimp(HH), 1 Emerald Crabs, 3 Porcelin Crabs(HH), varying amounts and varieties of hermit and snails.

3 Gallon Eclipse:
1 Goldfish (won free at a fair...cost $50 in equipment)
WhiteCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005, 09:51 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
I haven't found any magnetic cleaner that will remove the hard algae. I use a Kent Pro Scrape to remove the hard green algae and coraline from the front glass. They are not expensive, have replaceable blades, and work very well.

Old 04-10-2005, 10:22 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

I use the kent pro scraper also. Works well for me.
Old 04-10-2005, 10:12 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek