Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-16-2009, 06:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 26
Can I put this in my tank???

So I just bought my tank and it was used as a FW tank before. It came with some tank decor. One of the pieces is a rather large fake piece of coral. Can I use this in my FOWLR tank? There is a hole in the bottom of it that I am afraid might trap water and cause some bacterial growth. Should I just stay away from it? It would just save me a few bucks worth of live/base rock

Here are the pics of it:




__________________

__________________
Ge-off is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 06:42 PM   #2
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
You can use it.. but it won't serve as any means of filtration when your tank becomes established, like live rock would. It would just get covered with algae and corraline, and stay that way forever, serving no other purpose besides maybe a cave or perching place for inverts or blennies lol. But if you are going to have a FOWLR tank.. then you will already have live rock.. so why need this? These sort of things go in like fish only systems.. lol.

If you are going to use it though.. i would suggest bleaching it. Just in case there is any things on it that you would definitely not want in your tank. Just for precautions.
__________________

__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 06:44 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 26
Cool, I know it won't serve any purpose besides a hiding spot but with my budget I wont be able to stack tons of live rock so this will help fill some holes How do I bleach it? Just do a super diluted water bleach solution and clean it? Thanks for the help!
__________________
Ge-off is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 06:46 PM   #4
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
bleach it with a 10:1 solution, then rinse it very good and soak it in a bucket with lots of dechlor in it... then let it sit for a few days before adding.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 06:47 PM   #5
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfdrookie516 View Post
bleach it with a 10:1 solution, then rinse it very good and soak it in a bucket with lots of dechlor in it... then let it sit for a few days before adding.
+1

Exactly like that.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 07:52 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 26
Ok I will do that... Dechlor is that the same as a tap water conditioner? I have that but if its different I'll go buy some. Also the holes in the bottom had me worried, because I read somewhere that the water in the holes do not move enough and cause bacteria to grow. Is this ok??
__________________
Ge-off is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 08:26 PM   #7
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
Dechlor is a chemical that removed chlorine/chloramine from tap water, like prime, amquel, stresszyme, etc...
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 08:40 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 26
Ok... My tank hasn't started cycling yet, is it still important for me to let this sit for a few days in a bucket of water and dechlor??
__________________
Ge-off is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 09:22 PM   #9
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
yes, the dechlor will remove the bleach from it... if not, you will have lots of chlorine in your tank, not good, especially if youre starting a cycle as chlorine kills bacteria, the reason they put it in tap water and swimming pools
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 02:28 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer0 View Post
You can use it.. but it won't serve as any means of filtration when your tank becomes established, like live rock would. It would just get covered with algae and corraline,
It will become live and serve the same purpose as LR. The reason we use LR is becaues it is porous and has lots of surface area.
__________________

__________________
mdaniel2882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What to put in my tank? Mrbill Cichlid Discussion 5 12-08-2007 06:28 PM
What to put in my new tank ? Steven A Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 12-02-2005 03:33 AM
can i put these in my tank?? cougargirl50 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 06-10-2005 11:35 AM
Is this okay to put on my tank..... Jason Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 11-16-2004 09:17 PM
Another tank and what should I put in it? HOLLIEO Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 08-15-2003 04:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.