Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-02-2013, 08:09 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steo the great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dublin
Posts: 407
Can i top up by too much in one go??

I top up with ro water once a week and its usually aout 25 litres in one go. And I have a 600 litre aquarium should i top up more regularity or is this ok
__________________

__________________
Steo the great is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 09:53 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Daniel Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jupiter Fla
Posts: 1,178
Safer to top off small amounts of ro for there's no swing in salinity. Maybe try twice a week instead if once a week.
__________________

__________________
Daniel Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 10:49 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I would do it daily. Get an auto top off. put a container of water in the stand and let it top off whenever necessary. Then fill the top off container once a week.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 10:50 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steo the great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dublin
Posts: 407
How do I figure out the daily amount though?
__________________
Steo the great is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 10:52 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
How do you figure the weekly amount? Don't you fill the tank until it's full?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 10:53 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steo the great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dublin
Posts: 407
It's my sump levels that lower rather than my tank levels. Only time I know it's really low is when bubbles flow into the tank?
__________________
Steo the great is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 11:06 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
That's late...so, basically you let the return pump start sucking air before you top off? I would draw a low and high line on the glass of the sump and look in there every so often. I would not let the pump run out of water. If you buy an auto top off, you can put the float switch at a certain height and it will turn the pump on every time it goes below that height.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 11:08 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steo the great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dublin
Posts: 407
I just don't think I'll be able to fit a barrel inside my sump and I can't get to the back or side of my tank it's fitted into an alcove.

But i will definitly draw on high and low lines.
Do the bubbles do any damage to anything? Other than salinity lowering?
__________________
Steo the great is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 11:09 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Well, running the pump out of water could be damaging to the pump itself.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 11:14 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steo the great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dublin
Posts: 407
Yeah. I just have a frog spawn coral and a hammer corals and it looks like something is biting them. And was just making sure it wasn't the bubbles in the water affecting them.

I tried everything to find the cause of this problem and really have come to an end.
__________________
Steo the great is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 04:47 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Basically turn off your return pump. Then fill your sump as much as you can without overflowing(allow some gap). Then turn on your return. When the water level in the sump stops dropping mark your sump. This is your absolute max fill line while the return is running.

Check everyday and fill to that line.
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 05:20 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steo the great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dublin
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dav3 View Post
Basically turn off your return pump. Then fill your sump as much as you can without overflowing(allow some gap). Then turn on your return. When the water level in the sump stops dropping mark your sump. This is your absolute max fill line while the return is running.

Check everyday and fill to that line.
The thing is when I knock off my return. My display empties back into sump so I don't think this will work?
__________________
Steo the great is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 05:27 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steo the great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dublin
Posts: 407
Tomorrow I'm actually gonna raise my emergency drain. Just invade my return pump ever fails my whole sitting room will be full of salt water. Thanks for the idea.
__________________
Steo the great is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 05:57 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Did you understand what Dav3 proposed? If too much water is draining into your sump, you need to find a way to limit that. I would keep the return line just below the surface of the display, or drill a hole in the line just below the surface, so it doesn't back siphon 5 inches of tank water into the sump.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 06:01 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steo the great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dublin
Posts: 407
I have an emergency drain and and then another return drain. One is just above the water line and the other way way below like half way down my display. I have raise that tomorrow and then ill knock off my return and fill the sump up to whatever else is needed.
__________________
Steo the great is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 06:46 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steo the great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dublin
Posts: 407
Forget them two previously stupid things I've said.my weir prevents the tank from emptying.

So I've knocked off my return. And it doesn't overflow. And just reaches below my first baffle?

I should fill it so much that the water goes over the baffle should I?
__________________
Steo the great is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 06:59 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
You should fill it so when running, the pump is submerged and there's no bubbles, and when off, the sump doesn't overflow.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 07:02 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steo the great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dublin
Posts: 407
Here's a picture of my sump setup.


Does it seem correct?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3895171452.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	97.9 KB
ID:	183885  
__________________
Steo the great is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 07:06 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Well, I like my return area separate from the refugium. Yours is part of it, since the last partition is raised up. Now the refugium area drops when the water evaporates. Not really a good idea IMO.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 07:08 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steo the great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dublin
Posts: 407
I don't have anything in my refuge im that can gonzo through the return though.

And I bought it like this and at the time didn't realise it was built wrong.

Can this still work?
__________________

__________________
Steo the great is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×