Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-22-2013, 12:19 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Can I use a fluval fx5 and sump

Im a newbie to the reef aquarium hobby,Just got a 75 gallon half round tank with stand hood and a fluval fx5 filter. Would like to set it up to be reef tank. I'm going to buy a sump with a refuge and skimmer and a ro/di unit
I like to know if I could use the fx5 and then put the water through the sump or would it be better to put the water through the sump and the through the fx5.
Not even sure this is possible just need some guidance in the right direction as not too make expensive mistakes right of the bat.
__________________

__________________
Saltymac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 11:49 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
erichm20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 651
Well with the sump you are trying to add more volume and lower nutrients to create stability so as long as it helps with one of those things then go for it. Personally I wouldn't want another thing to clean and maintain.

some people will continue to use canister filters as a media reactor to run carbon or gfo etc... You just don't want to keep the regular media in there like bio rings or whatever else comes in there bc they can build up nitrates.

as far as where it goes I would have it separate from the sump completely unless you will be able to have it configured 1. Sump intake and skimmer section 2. Canister 3. Refugium 4. Return. But I don't know I haven't used them so maybe someone else could help with that.

Good luck with the build!
__________________

__________________
erichm20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 11:53 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
erichm20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 651
And I meant the canister filter with the" not wanting an extra thing to maintain" comment, not the sump. You definitely want to move forward with the sump and in-sump skimmer.
__________________
erichm20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 04:38 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
so i could use the fx5 as a dual carbon and gfo reactor? would this run seperate to the sump? as in just change the media to carbon and gfo and leave it running as it is
__________________
Saltymac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 05:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
erichm20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 651
Yep that's the way I've heard people do it. I wish I could give more detailed advice but it's not something I have done. I think you will want to make sure they are in separate chambers.
__________________
erichm20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 05:59 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
thanks for the help, anyone else got more info on how this will best work.
__________________

__________________
Saltymac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, fluval fx5, fx5, sump, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.