Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-27-2007, 09:12 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 36
can i use my same filter

my fliter was used in freshwater, my local pet store said i could use it for SW and everthing will change over on its own, is that alright, thanks guys, also, whats the best to put in your filter.
__________________

__________________
scottytoohottie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 10:26 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
You are right, I would just clean it out. THe SW bacteria will take over. One thing, make sure they didn't use meds in it, especially copper. You can simply add rock rubble, that's about all you need.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 06:50 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
IMO it`s not needed. A skimmer and LR is all you need. If you want to save it and use it to run GAC occasionally in your tank that will be OK.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canister filter vs. HOB filter for a planted tank fort384 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 02-02-2009 01:09 AM
are Wet/dry filter & Mini-Reef Filter the same thing?? Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-26-2005 04:02 PM
Does Micron Filter Pad work well with HOB filter? ahboy22 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-08-2005 09:41 PM
How to filter 200 gal. Would pond filter work? arowanaman420 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 11:05 PM
Small Internal power filter as a secondary filter chasgood General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 06-17-2004 01:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.