Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-10-2004, 11:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 410
Can I use this tank??

I was recently given a tank (20 gallon) That my wifes grandmother had in her attic. Dunno how long it had been there but lets say uhh 2yrs. The problem is That I have heard her talk about treating her fish before with copper to clear up ich. Under her current tank she has a bottle of Mardel Coppersafe dunno if thats what she used but mabye it will help you. ANy way it's been empty and cleard out forever now but I am curious if I can use this as a frag tank. The glass will not absorb the copper will it?? I mean can I even put live rock in this tank??


Thanks

Doan
__________________

__________________
Doan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 11:48 PM   #2
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
From what I hear the sealing of the tank will/can store the copper. Why not just buy a 20 gal new, there fairly cheap. Better to be safe then sorry.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 12:38 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Richlands, NC
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to Pyxis Send a message via MSN to Pyxis Send a message via Yahoo to Pyxis
If your tank has been subjected to copper, more than likley you will never be able to have inverts in the tank, as the copper adhears to the silicone seal. you would be better off getting a new tank, than the money your gonna spend trying to figure it out.
__________________
Pyxis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 11:15 AM   #4
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
Tanks are cheap buy a new one unless you are just keeping fish in it you are asking for trouble!
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 11:36 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Buy a new 20 gallon and use the one from your grandmother as a QT and then you wont have to worry about the copper or not!
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 01:29 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
i dont buy it at all even if the copper did get absorbed into the silicone it wouldnt be enough to cause issues !! i have 2 55 gallons that had copper in them and all my animals are doing great if im wrong someone send some hard core proof of a tank not keeping inverts due to copper in the tank at one time ! like to see it ! ill show ya pics of my stars /pods/corals/sponges that are growing strong !
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 02:19 PM   #7
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
even if the copper did get absorbed into the silicone it wouldnt be enough to cause issues !!
Wheres your hard core proof?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 02:47 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
my tanks weres the proof of a tank not keeping inverts that have had copper ! yea hear everyone saying it wont support life but yet seen it ?¿?
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 04:15 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Atari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,468
It's not something that's easy to prove.. you hear about people having trouble keeping snails alive and there doesn't seem to be any reason for it, and then you ask if they ever used copper and they say yes.. so who knows if that's the reason or not but if you're talking about a small expense then I don't see any harm in being cautious.
__________________
My wife and I were happy for twenty years. Then we met.
- Rodney Dangerfield.


Click HERE to vote for Aquarium Advice!
Atari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 04:59 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
look at it this way ! if it was true to be that toxic and last forever in a tank then wouldnt it make sense that once ya dosed copper for ich then in theory ya wouldnt ever get ick in that tank again due to the traces of copper !! this isnt the case !!
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 12:24 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 852
Send a message via MSN to sumphead
There are tons of rumors in this hobby, just as any other. Personally I am with scuba on this one. The "rumor" that copper bonds to silicone is just that. You wanna give it a try? Fill after a good cleaning and test for copper. That should solve that, yeah?
__________________
I wish I had a nickel for every miracle that you easily tricked me into. -Chris Robinson
sumphead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 03:10 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
heres my other thought on this ! if silicone does absorb copper then why wouldnt tanks leak ! if it can absorb copper then it would absorb water which would make it leak
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 03:34 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Quote:
heres my other thought on this ! if silicone does absorb copper then why wouldnt tanks leak ! if it can absorb copper then it would absorb water which would make it leak

true dat!
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 05:20 PM   #14
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Well if it is true, it's also said it can leech out at any time. So your tank may be doing great now... but lets say it's true. Theres still that chance isn't there¿?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 05:34 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,012
Substances tend to flow from areas of higher concentration to areas of lower concentration. Given the assumption that silicone can absorb copper, It can probably release it to an area of lower concentration as well. I would think that with time and water changes the copper would be reduced to levels that would not be toxic to inverts.
__________________
75 gal
4x65w PC
AquaC Remora Pro
140#s Live Rock from LiveRocks.com
Frogspawn, Hammer, Zoos, Leather Frag, and Xenia and Green Star Polyp frags from fishfreek and Alarmguy66, Thanks!
Member of the Unofficial A-Team
bound_for_obx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 08:31 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 69
Ich is less sensitive to copper than most inverts. Why not just use it as a quarantine 'cause everybody needs one of those? Under $25 gets you a new 20 gallon in my area. Why even risk delicate frags when it's not absolutely necessary?
__________________
Foible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 03:22 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Jacksonville,Florida
Posts: 53
Unless the tank was dosed multiple times with high copper concentrations I dont see the harm in it, but thats just me I could be wrong.........
__________________
Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 03:24 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Central US
Posts: 427
Ooh, I'd say be safe and sure and buy an new tank- they sell for about $24 at Petsmart here... not that expensive :|
__________________
frshwaterfinatc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 06:39 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Atari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,468
BTW, just because the copper may stick to the silicone doesn't mean it will absorb water too.

And I just remembered someone who said they had bought a used tank and had never personally used copper but their tank always tested for copper so, if the test kit was working right and there was no other source of copper, then that's reasonable cause for doubt IMO.
__________________
My wife and I were happy for twenty years. Then we met.
- Rodney Dangerfield.


Click HERE to vote for Aquarium Advice!
Atari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 08:29 AM   #20
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,967
I wonder if Silicone does absorb copper. I've heard it does, but like you said, no real proof. I know it will stain.
__________________

__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×